Faculty and Alumni Presented Awards at PEGNL Dinner

Jun 14th, 2018

S. Piercey

Faculty and Alumni Presented Awards at PEGNL Dinner

The Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Newfoundland and Labrador (PEGNL) Awards dinner was recently held with many individuals from the Department of Earth Sciences and our alumni presented awards.

Dr. Andrew Kerr received the Award for Service. Dr. Kerr is an Adjunct Professor in Earth Sciences and is also an alumnus who completed an MSc and PhD at Memorial. He has given numerous years of service to the geoscience community while he previously was employed by the Geological Survey of Newfoundland and Labrador and is currently a resident Adjunct who has taught numerous courses in our department, contributes to our department, and is the Editor of Geoscience Canada (the editorial office is in our department now).

Dr. Richard Wright received the Early Accomplishment Award. Richard obtained an BSc (Hons) and PhD from our department and is currently Exploration Manager with Nalcor Energy, Oil and Gas. He is a leader in the oil and gas industry and is recognized for his contributions to that industry.

Dr. Dawn Evans-Lamswood received the Award of Merit. Dawn obtained a BSc(Hons) and MSc from Memorial University. She previously was part of the team that discovered and put the Voisey’s Bay deposit(s) into production and was previously Senior Geologists of Brownfields Exploration for North America for Vale. She currently runs her own consulting company (DEL Exploration) and is also project manager with Fjordland Exploration. She has a long history of exploration success and mentorship of younger geologists, and for greatly enhancing our understanding of the genesis and exploration for nickel-copper-platinum group element deposits. This is the highest honour that PEGNL bestows on its members and is for outstanding contributions and achievements in the profession.

In addition, Geoscientists Canada also awarded two awards as part of the event, including: Dr. Jeremy Hall, Professor Emeritus, was awarded the highest honour of Geoscientists Canada, the Canadian Professional Geoscientists Award for his outstanding contributions to research, teaching, public service, and to the geoscience profession. Dr. Stephen Piercey, Professor, was awarded the Fellowship of Geoscience Canada for commitment to achieve professional excellence through exceptional contributions to the geoscience profession in Canada.