The Diagnostic Radiology program is split mainly between three teaching hospitals: The General Hospital, St. Clare’s Mercy Hospital, and the Janeway Child Health Centre. The Residency Training Program consists of five years, and residents rotate through all three teaching hospitals during their training. All of the Royal College requirements are met. The program enrolment is between 14 and 17 residents with 3-4 in each year at any one time.

There are 36 teaching faculty located throughout our three teaching hospitals and other faculty in centres throughout Newfoundland. The resident/faculty ratio is 14:36. Rotations include GI radiology, GU radiology, chest radiology, skeletal radiology, neuroradiology, interventional radiology, nuclear medicine, body imaging - includes CT and MR imaging, ultrasound, pediatric radiology, mammography, emergency and four months elective time in their fourth and fifth years.  All residents have equal rotation schedules spread throughout their training.

Our Mission:

Working in the spirit of partnership and respect, the Discipline of Radiology is committed to delivering excellence in education across the educational continuum, striving for efficient, evidence-based patient care and engaging in impactful research.

Our Vision:

Through excellence, we will integrate learner, faculty and staff education, with professional development and research to advance the health of the people and communities we serve.

Our Values:

  • Put the needs of our learners, patients and communities at the forefront of everything we do
  • Support learners, full and part-time faculty, and staff to succeed
  • Act and lead with integrity and professionalism
  • Embrace creativity and innovation
  • Champion interdisciplinary teamwork and collaboration to achieve excellence in our educational and clinical mandates