News Releases

The Divison of Marketing and Communications provides access to the most up-to-date information released by Memorial University of Newfoundland. Archives of previous news releases are also available.

To access news releases from Grenfell Campus please click here.

REF NO.: 98

SUBJECT: Winners from Canadian Engineering Competition 2003

DATE: March 7

Note to editors:

Representatives from Memorial University of Newfoundland, the Canadian Forces, and various other sponsors presented awards to the winners and runners up of the Canadian Engineering Competition 2003 at the St John's Delta Hotel and Conference Centre, on Saturday, March 2, 2003. The three-day engineering competition brought together over 100 engineering students from across Canada to compete for the national title in seven categories.

"We were very proud to host this year's Canadian Engineering Competition and are very pleased with the exceptional turn-out and talent of all the student participants," said co-chair Sabrina Mallard. "We would like to send out a big thank-you to our patron sponsor the Canadian Forces, the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science, all the many other sponsors who helped make this event a success, and last but certainly not least, all the students who volunteered so much of their time and assistance."

Awards were presented to teams from the following universities:

Corporate Design:

    1st Place: University of Toronto (Douglas Hester & Peter Lewis)
    2nd Place: University of Saskatchewan (Rob Carey & Todd Threlfall)
    3rd Place: Université du Québec a Trois Rivieres (Sylvain Gilbert)

Explanatory Communications:

    1st Place: École Polytechnique de Montréal (Fanny Béron & Mathieu Letendre)
    2nd Place: University of Saskatchewan (Jeanna Berg)
    3rd Place: École de technologie supérieure (Philippe Henniges)

Extemporaneous Debate:

    1st Place: Dalhousie University (Christopher Blight & Christian West)
    2nd Place: Royal Military College (Christopher Bryan & Allan Ferris)
    3rd Place: University of Toronto (Erica Kiessner & Ashley Morton)

Entrepreneurial Design:

    1st Place: University of Western Ontario (Chris Jenkins, Stan Uhm, Talbot McInnis)
    2nd Place: Simon Fraser University (David Poon, James Hu, See-Ho Tsang)
    3rd Place: Simon Fraser University (Chris Mitchell & Hani Mehrpouyan)

Editorial Communications:

    1st Place: Dalhousie University (Andrew MacDonald)
    2nd Place: Simon Fraser University (Eric Hennessey)
    3rd Place: Université Laval (Isabelle Grenon-D'Amours & Yannick Laroche)

Team Design:

    1st Place: École de technologie supérieure (Pierre-Olivier Berthiaume, Dominic Desmarais, Patrick Frigault, Guillaume Sauriol)
    2nd Place: École de technologie supérieure (Benoit Demers Raymond, Jonathon Grenier, Charles Rousseau, Francois Tremblay)
    3rd Place: Royal Military College (Stephane Gagnon, Sebastien Migneault, Maxime Renaud, Jean-Patrice Rivest-Caissey)

Senior Team Design:

    1st Place: University of Saskatchewan (Greg Cochran, Chad Hamre, Lindsay Hinther, Ryan Morgan)
    2nd Place: Dalhousie University (Jason Goodenough, Matt Swinkels, Blair Porter, Cordell Grant)
    3rd Place: Université de Sherbrooke (Benoit Adam, Nicolas Beauchamp, Philippe Blouin, Mélanie Boudreault)

Environmental Awareness Award:

    University of Waterloo (Sonya Konzak)

Social Awareness Award:

    Simon Fraser University (Eric Hennessey)

Technical Excellence Award:

    Simon Fraser University (Chris Mitchell, Hani Mehrpouyan)

Exhibitor Award:

    University of Saskatchewan (Rob Carey and Todd Threlfall)

- 30 -


Marketing & Communications

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000