News Releases

The Divison of Marketing and Communications provides access to the most up-to-date information released by Memorial University of Newfoundland. Archives of previous news releases are also available.

To access news releases from Grenfell Campus please click here.

REF NO.: 381

SUBJECT: Alumni elect representatives to Memorial’s governing body

DATE: Aug. 19

There will be five new faces at the table when Memorial University’s Board of Regents convenes on Sept. 7, 2005, at Happy Valley-Goose Bay. Memorial alumni recently returned Earl Ludlow for a second term and elected five new regents including Ruth Canning, Deanne Fleet, Ann Marie Hann, Doug Moores and Eleanor Swanson for three-year terms on the Board of Regents, Memorial’s governing body.

Almost 2,000 alumni had cast their votes by the time voting ended at 5 p.m.Friday, Aug. 12, for record 28 alumni candidates.

Commenting on the election, the chair of the Board of Regents, Lorne Wheeler, BA(Ed.)’65, BA’66, said, “It is a great pleasure to welcome these outstanding representatives to the Board of Regents of Memorial University. Our alumni are ambassadors for the university and the community and they bring unique perspectives to the Board of Regents. I look forward to working with them as they continue the strong alumni tradition of contributing to this institution’s governing body.”

Memorial President Dr. Axel Meisen was impressed with the elected slate. “One of the most satisfying experiences of my time in office has been meeting and working with the many outstanding Memorial alumni,” he said. “None have been more committed than those who serve on the Board of Regents. I’m pleased to welcome Mr. Ludlow back for a second term and I look forward to working with the new regents over the next three years.”

Gary Peddle, president of the Alumni Association of Memorial University of Newfoundland, expressed satisfaction with the results. “We had 28 excellent candidates offer themselves for election this year and we had the second highest turnout ever for these elections. I know that elected alumni will ensure that the concerns of all graduates are understood at the most senior level of this institution. And I know that each of them has the commitment and passion to see Memorial University continue to excel.”

Dr. Dale Foster, acting director, Alumni Affairs and Development, said this election is evidence that Memorial University is successfully reaching out to its graduates. “This year we saw a record number of candidates stand for election to the Board of Regents and many alumni took the time to vote online or by ballot. This speaks to the fact that our alumni see Memorial as a relevant and responsive player in the social and economic development of the province.”

(See backgrounder for bios or visit and under Related Links click on Memorial Alumni Regents Elected)

Created under provincial legislation, the Board of Regents of Memorial University of Newfoundland is mandated “to do and perform all other matters and things which may seem appropriate and useful for the well ordering and advancement of the university.” That includes the management, administration and control of the property, revenue, business and affairs of the university. The 28-member board includes three ex-officio members: the chancellor; the president, who is the vice-chancellor; and the vice-president (academic), who is the pro vice-chancellor. There are 21 members appointed by government including four full-time students. The alumni association elects six members.

New alumni representatives on the Board of Regents

Ruth Canning, BA'66, began her business career as a real estate agent in 1982 and is now one of the most successful agents in Newfoundlandand Labrador. Ms. Canning has also been involved in community development and since 1980 and has been a leader in the heritage movement in this province and nationally, serving on a number of boards at both levels.

Deanne Fleet, BA'80, is an award-winning journalist and documentary maker with CBCTV. Over the past 22 years she's worked with CBC's Fifth Estate, covered politics in NL and in PEI, and hosted the Fisheries Broadcast. She continues investigative reporting for CBCTV.

Ann Marie Hann, B.Comm.'81, MBA'83, is a former CEO of the Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission. She has 20 years experience in strategic planning and administration. She was a provincial deputy minister, and serves on professional and volunteer boards. Ms. Hann was twice named among the Top 50 CEOs in Atlantic Canada. She was awarded the Queen's Golden Jubilee Medal for Outstanding Public Service and was the first woman to be elected as president of the national Association of Worker's Compensation Boards.

Earl Ludlow, B. Eng.'80, MBA'94, is president and CEO of Fortis Properties with responsibility for more than 1,500 employees in Canadaand the Americas. He has previously served as a Memorial regent sitting on the campus planning committee and the engineering and applied science advisory council. He was also a board member of the alumni association.

Douglas Moores, B.Comm.'68, a Conception Bay North lawyer for 35 years, is a bencher with the Law Society of Newfoundland and Labradorand also served as chair, of the Matthew visit. His professional and volunteer awards include the Eaton Award Memorial (1996); Alumnus of the Year Memorial (1998); Weldon Award for Distinguished Public Service, Dalhousie (2000); Canadian Bar Association (NL branch), Distinguished Public Service Award (2000).

Eleanor Swanson, M.Ed.'77, is from Buchans. After an early career as a dietician in BC she returned to Newfoundlandand Labradorto work with the department of health where she became director of nutrition in 1979. She's contributed to many professional and community organizations and has established the Greg Campbell Memorial Scholarship in memory of her husband.

- 30 -

For more information, please contact Wade Kearley, communications co-ordinator, Alumni Affairs and Development, Memorial University of Newfoundland, (709)737-4354, or


Marketing & Communications

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000