News Releases

The Divison of Marketing and Communications provides access to the most up-to-date information released by Memorial University of Newfoundland. Archives of previous news releases are also available.

To access news releases from Grenfell Campus please click here.

REF NO.: 23

SUBJECT: Memorial University to present 35th annual Alumni Tribute Awards

DATE: Oct. 12

Note to editors:

Dr. Gary Kachanoski, president and vice-chancellor, Memorial University of Newfoundland, will host the 35th annual Alumni Tribute Awards tomorrow, Thursday, Oct. 13, at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland in St. John’s.

A reception begins at 6 p.m. and the awards ceremony begins at 7 p.m.

Memorial’s Alumni Tribute Awards are the highest honour bestowed by the alumni body on Memorial graduates who’ve made tremendous contributions at home and around the world.

The honourees follow below:

  • Mark Dobbin, B.Comm.(Co-op.)’81, Alumnus of the Year
  • Karl Smith, B.Comm.(Hons.)(Co-op.)’81, J.D. Eaton Alumni Award
  • Christopher Nolan, BN’08, MN’14, Outstanding Community Service Award
  • Morgan MacDonald, BBA’04, Alumni Horizon Award recipient

Media agencies are invited to attend. The Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland charges a $5 flat parking fee for those individuals parking on site.

- 30 -

For further information, or to confirm your attendance, please contact Lisa Pendergast, communications co-ordinator, Alumni Affairs and Development, at 709-864-2479 or email


Marketing & Communications

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000