News Releases

The Divison of Marketing and Communications provides access to the most up-to-date information released by Memorial University of Newfoundland. Archives of previous news releases are also available.

To access news releases from Grenfell Campus please click here.

REF NO.: 159

SUBJECT: Memorial University to hold spring convocation ceremonies in St. John’s

DATE: May 25

More than 2,400 degrees will be awarded to graduating Memorial University students during nine sessions of convocation from May 26-29 at the St. John’s Arts and Culture Centre. The first three sessions of convocation were held at the Corner Brook Arts and Culture Centre on May 8.

Along with the newest cohort of spring graduates crossing the stage, Memorial University is presenting nine outstanding people with degrees honoris causa at spring ceremonies.

In St. John’s, honorary degrees will be awarded to child advocate and Roots of Empathy founder Mary Gordon; social entrepreneur Zita Cobb; women in science role model Dr. Margaret-Ann Armour; hockey legend Howie Meeker; architect Dr. Robert Mellin; educator and entrepreneur Dr. Georgina Hedges; and community advocate Penelope Rowe. (Gen. William Carr (Ret’d) is not available to participate as originally announced.)

Inuk elder Sarah Anala and filmmaker Barbara Doran were awarded honorary doctorates during sessions of convocation in Corner Brook.

Honorary degree recipients are chosen from nominations submitted by the public to the Senate, the university’s academic governing body, after a careful examination of the grounds for their nomination. The honorary doctorate degree is designed to recognize extraordinary contribution to society or the university or exceptional intellectual or artistic achievement.

Dr. Gary Kachanoski, Memorial’s president and vice-chancellor, will address all nine sessions of convocation in St. John’s and will be joined by other members of Memorial’s senior administration who will speak at various ceremonies.

For further information about convocation and those receiving special honours, please visit Memorial’s spring convocation will be broadcast live on the Internet. The broadcast will be available for viewing at during each convocation session and archived on Memorial’s convocation website for future viewing. The convocation program, including the names of all 2015 spring graduates, is also available at

- 30 -

Media agencies are invited to attend convocation ceremonies. Limited media seating is available; media representatives should ask for David Sorensen or Meaghan Whelan at the north door entrance to the auditorium. Videotaping in the auditorium is restricted; a video feed or tape is available upon request. A full schedule follows this release.


For more information, please contact David Sorensen, acting associate director (communications), Memorial University, (709) 864-2143, cell (709) 685-7134,; or Meaghan Whelan, acting manager (communications), Memorial University, at (709) 864-2455, (709) 725-9605 or     

Spring convocation schedule in St. John’s

Tuesday, May 26 – 10 a.m.

BA(Hons.), BA (surnames A-M), PhD, PsyD


Tuesday, May 26 – 3 p.m.

Honorary: Mary Gordon, doctor of laws

BA (surnames N-Z), BSW, MA, M.Phil., MSW, M.A.Ed.(Education Francophone Literatures and Cultures), MGS


Wednesday, May 27 – 10 a.m.

Honorary: Zita Cobb, doctor of laws

B.Comm., B.Comm.(Co-op.)(Hons.), B.Comm.(Co-op.), BBA(Hons.), BBA, IBBA(Hons.), IBBA


Wednesday, May 27 – 3 p.m.

Honorary: Dr. Margaret-Ann Armour, doctor of science



Wednesday, May 27 – 7:30 p.m.

Honorary: Howie Meeker, doctor of laws

BPE(Hons.), BPE, BPE(Co-op.)(Hons.), BPE(Co-op.), B.Rec.(Co-op.)(Hons.), B.Rec.(Co-op.), B.Rec., B.Kin.(Co-op.)(Hons.), B.Kin.(Co-op.), B.Kin.(Hons.), B.Kin., BMS, B.Tech., M.Sc., MPE, MAS, M.Sc.(Pharmacy), M.Env.Sc., MMS, MER, M.Sc.(Medicine), M.Sc. (Kinesiology), M.A.Sc., MPH, MEM, MMM, MTM


Thursday, May 28 – 10 a.m.

B.Sc.(Hons.), B.Sc.(Pharmacy), MD, MBA


Thursday, May 28 – 3 p.m.

Honorary: Dr. Robert Mellin, doctor of letters

B.Eng., M.Eng.


Friday, May 29 – 10 a.m.

Honorary: Dr. Georgina Hedges, doctor of laws

BN, M.Ed. (surnames A-J), MN


Friday, May 29 – 3 p.m.

Honorary: Penelope Rowe, doctor of laws

B.Mus.(Hons.), B.Mus., B.Sp.Ed., B.Ed.(Native and Northern), B.Ed.(Post-Secondary), B.Ed.(Intermediate/Secondary), B.Ed.(Primary/Elementary), B.Mus.Ed., M.Ed. (surnames K-Z), M.Mus.



Marketing & Communications

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000