News Releases

The Divison of Marketing and Communications provides access to the most up-to-date information released by Memorial University of Newfoundland. Archives of previous news releases are also available.

To access news releases from Grenfell Campus please click here.

REF NO.: 127

SUBJECT: Memorial University to hold spring convocation ceremonies in St. John’s

DATE: May 26

          Memorial University is holding spring convocation ceremonies this week. Some 2,400 degrees will be awarded to graduating Memorial University students during nine sessions of convocation from May 27-30 at the St. John’s Arts and Culture Centre. The first session of convocation was held at the Pepsi Centre in Corner Brook May 9.
          Along with the hundreds of new graduates crossing the stage, Memorial University will also present six outstanding people with degrees honoris causa at spring ceremonies.
          Honorary degrees will be awarded to social justice leader and community volunteer Jocelyn Greene; former Grenfell Mission intern and geriatric medicine leader Dr. John Gray; Autism Society founding member Joyce Hayward Churchill; philanthropist and non-denominational school system activist Kathleen Pratt LeGrow; and heritage advocate and long-serving municipal politician Shannie Duff.
Broadcaster and author Michael Enright was awarded an honorary doctorate at the session of convocation held in Corner Brook.
          Honorary degree recipients are chosen from nominations submitted by the public to the Senate, the university’s academic governing body, after a careful examination of the grounds for their nomination. The honorary doctorate degree is designed to recognize extraordinary contribution to society or the university or exceptional intellectual or artistic achievement.
          Dr. Gary Kachanoski, Memorial’s president and vice-chancellor, will address all nine sessions of convocation in St. John’s and be joined by other members of Memorial’s senior administration who will speak at various ceremonies.
          For further information about convocation and those receiving special honours, please visit Memorial’s spring convocation is also being broadcast live on the Internet. The broadcast will be available for viewing at during each convocation session and archived on Memorial’s convocation website for future viewing.

- 30 -

Media agencies are invited to attend convocation ceremonies. Limited media seating is available; media representatives should ask for David Sorensen or Meaghan Whelan at the north door entrance to the auditorium. Videotaping in the auditorium is restricted; a video feed or tape is available upon request. A full schedule follows this release.

For more information, please contact David Sorensen, acting associate director (communications), Memorial University, (709) 864-2143, cell (709) 685-7134,; or Meaghan Whelan, acting manager (communications), Memorial University, at (709) 864-2455, (709) 725-9605 or  

Convo 1
Tuesday, May 27, 10 a.m.
B.A. (surnames A-O), Ph.D.*, Psy.D.*
Suzanne (Shannie) Duff          
Doctor of Laws
Convo 2
Tuesday, May 27, 3 p.m.
B.A.(Hons.), B.A. (surnames P - Z), B.S.W., M.A., M.Phil., M.B.A., M.W.S., M.A.Ed.(Education Francophone Literatures and Cultures)
Jocelyn Denise Wells Greene                     Doctor of Laws
Convo 3
Wednesday, May 28, 10 a.m.
B.Comm., B.Comm.(Co-op.)(Hons.), B.Comm.(Co-op.), B.B.A.(Hons.), B.B.A., I.B.B.A.(Hons.), I.B.B.A.
Kathleen Pratt LeGrow
Doctor of Laws
Convo 4
Wednesday, May 28, 3 p.m.
B.Sc., B.M.S., B.Tech., M.T.M., M.M.M.
Convo 5          
Wednesday, May 28, 7:30p.m.
B.P.E.(Hons.), B.P.E., B.P.E.(Co-op.)(Hons.), B.P.E.(Co-op.), B.Rec.(Co-op.)(Hons.), B.Rec.(Co-op.), B.Rec., B.Kin.(Co-op.)(Hons.), B.Kin.(Co-op.), B.Kin.(Hons.), B.Kin., M.Sc., M.P.E., M.S.W., M.A.S., M.Sc.(Pharmacy), M.Env.Sc., M.M.S., M.E.R., M.Sc.(Medicine), M.Sc. (Kinesiology), M.A.Sc., M.P.H.
Convo 6
Thursday, May 29, 10 a.m.
B.Sc.(Hons.), B.Sc.(Pharmacy), M.D.
John Maurice Gray                Doctor of Science 
Convo 7
Thursday, May 29, 3 p.m.
B.Eng., M.Eng., M.E.M.
Convo 8
Friday, May 30, 10 a.m.
B.N., M.Ed. (surnames A-J), M.N.
Joyce Hayward Churchill             Doctor of Laws
Convo 9
Friday, May 30, 3 p.m.
B.Mus.(Hons.), B.Mus., B.Sp.Ed., B.Ed. (Native and Northern), B.Ed.(Post-Secondary), B.Ed.(Intermediate/Secondary), B.Ed.(Primary/Elementary), B.Mus.Ed., M.Ed. (surnames K-Z), M.Mus.


Marketing & Communications

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000