News Releases

The Divison of Marketing and Communications provides access to the most up-to-date information released by Memorial University of Newfoundland. Archives of previous news releases are also available.

To access news releases from Grenfell Campus please click here.

REF NO.: 35

SUBJECT: Memorial University to present 2013 Alumni Tribute Awards

DATE: Oct. 21

Note to editors:
Dr. Gary Kachanoski, president and vice-chancellor, Memorial University of Newfoundland, will host an evening of celebration and shine the spotlight on four outstanding graduates during the 2013 Alumni Tribute Awards, tonight, Monday, Oct. 21, at 7 p.m. at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland in St. John’s.
Media agencies are invited to send representatives to the event.
The 2013 recipients are as follows:
The Alumnus of the Year Award will be presented to Brendan Paddick (B.Comm.(Co-op.)’86, MBA’94), chairman and chief executive officer of Columbus International Inc., a privately held corporation with Newfoundland and Labrador roots.
Eleanor Swanson (M.Ed.’77) will receive this year’s J.D. Eaton Award, which recognizes leadership and outstanding contributions to Memorial University that have enhanced the stature, reputation, and overall strength of the university.
Francis (Frank) Durnford (BA (Hons.)’03)  will receive the Horizon Award, recognizing exceptional achievement by alumni under the age of 35. He is the executive director and president of the energy4everyone Foundation.
The Outstanding Community Service Award will be presented to Randy Murphy (B.Comm.’72), the founding member of the East Coast Trail Association.

- 30 -

For further information please contact Sharon King, communications co-ordinator, Alumni Affairs and Development, at 709-864-8006, 709-699-8808 (mobile) or email   


Marketing & Communications

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000