News Releases

The Divison of Marketing and Communications provides access to the most up-to-date information released by Memorial University of Newfoundland. Archives of previous news releases are also available.

To access news releases from Grenfell Campus please click here.

SUBJECT: Local medical hero named one of Canada’s 2013 Hall of Fame inductees

DATE: Oct. 18


Release time: 6:30 p.m. EST (8 p.m. local time) Thursday Oct. 18
Local medical hero named one of Canada’s 2013 Hall of Fame inductees
London ON -- Canada has an enduring culture of health care excellence – an achievement worth celebrating yet something we don’t do often enough. The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame – the only one of its kind in the world – aims to change that.
Every year, The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame elevates a select few of our country’s most brilliant minds to laureate status. Laureates are those who have pushed the boundaries of discovery and innovation beyond the realm of possibility to make the world a better place.
This year’s inductees, like the 95 laureates who have been similarly recognized since 1994, truly stand out. All are Officers of the Order of Canada, a fitting honour as they embody the good Canadian spirit of grit, perseverance and an overarching sense of humility.
Worthy of the world’s recognition, The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame is proud to announce the 2013 inductees:

Dr. Antoine Hakim (ON)
Dr. Arnold Naimark (MB)
Dr. David MacLennan (ON)
          Dr. Bette Stephenson (ON)
          Dr. Claude Roy (QC)
          The Late Dr. Ian Rusted (NL)

“These remarkable individuals have earned their place of honour among Canada’s most distinguished medical heroes. Their legacy will live on through the Hall of Fame where people everywhere can learn about their great service to humankind and be inspired to follow in their footsteps,” said Dr. Stewart Hamilton, Board Chair of the Hall of Fame. “This year’s inductees have overcome incredible challenges to improve the lives of countless others and as fellow Canadians we can be extremely proud.”
Local hero, the late Dr. Ian Rusted, is being recognized for establishing the medical school in Newfoundland and Labrador, which to this day is a world leader in medical education. What makes this singular accomplishment so remarkable is the vision and perseverance it took to establish a medical school in a poor, underserved province at a time when all of Canada’s medical schools were located in large, resource-rich cities. Since its inception, Memorial University’s Medical School continues to address one of the world’s greatest health challenges: how to effectively train and inspire doctors to serve patients in rural and remote communities. Today, the legacy and spirit of Dr. Rusted lives on in over 2,000 medical graduates who are scattered across Newfoundland and Labrador and throughout the world caring for the needs of humanity wherever they may be.         
“When I became Dean of Medicine at Memorial in 2004 and met with Dr. Rusted, it became clear to me that the medical school had been established on a foundation of social accountability,” said Dr. James Rourke. “From the beginning, Memorial’s medical school focussed on engaging and responding to the health needs of the people of Newfoundland and Labrador and its innovative curriculum provided learning experiences in communities throughout the province.”
The 2013 Induction Ceremony, presented by BMO Harris Private Banking, will be held in Halifax on May 2. Over 700 of Canada’s leading citizens will join Honourary Co-chairs Dr. Richard Goldbloom and the late Ruth Goldbloom (in spirit) along with other distinguished guests for an evening of inspiration and celebration hosted by the Atlantic Canada region.
“We are proud to support great Canadian physicians who have given so much to our communities and continue to help the progression of medical achievements across the country,” said Daniel Theriault, Regional Director of Investments, BMO Harris Private Banking. “BMO Harris Private Banking congratulates the 2013 Medical Hall of Fame inductees and is pleased to be the Presenting Sponsor of the 2013.”

- 30 -

- 30 -
Biographies of the current laureates are available at
About The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame
Established in 1994, The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame is the only national Hall of Fame in the world dedicated to celebrating medical heroes. By creating an enduring tribute to those men and women who through discovery and innovation have contributed to better health in Canada and the world, The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame inspires the pursuit of careers in the health sciences fostering future innovators and leaders.
About BMO Harris Private Banking
BMO Harris Private Banking is a team of remarkably talented and passionate professionals with diverse expertise who are dedicated to creating a profound impact on the lives of their clients. Backed by the heritage, stability and resources of BMO Financial Group, professionals at BMO Harris Private Banking are responsible for the successful management of wealth by providing expert advice and highly personalized services in banking, investment management, estate, trust, succession planning and philanthropic services - all in a coordinated and confident approach. BMO Harris Private Banking challenges successful Canadian families to take action on what’s important to drive exceptional outcomes and make the most of the opportunities wealth provides.
Media Contacts:
Sharon Gray
Communications co-ordinator (medicine)
Memorial University
709 777 8397 /
Janet Tufts
Executive Director
The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame
519 661 7785 /


Marketing & Communications

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000