News Releases

The Divison of Marketing and Communications provides access to the most up-to-date information released by Memorial University of Newfoundland. Archives of previous news releases are also available.

To access news releases from Grenfell Campus please click here.

REF NO.: 18

SUBJECT: Alumni Tribute Award recipients announced

DATE: Sept. 27

Four outstanding alumni of Memorial University of Newfoundland will be recognized for their achievements at the 26th Annual Alumni Tribute Awards on Thursday, Oct. 25.
Retired businessman and active philanthropist Darryl Fry will receive the Alumni Association’s highest honour, the Lifetime Achievement Award, while Marlene Shehata, a pharmacist intern and part-time professor of pharmacology, will accept the Horizon Award. Community activist and social worker Jocelyn Greene will receive the Outstanding Community Service award, and Dr. Wayne Gulliver will accept the J. D. Eaton Award for exceptional leadership and outstanding service to the university.
The Lifetime Achievement award recognizes an individual's contribution to and distinction in their chosen professional fields. It honours individuals who inspire others by displaying exceptional human values. Dr. Fry personifies this award: an outstanding engineer, an internationally-known business founder and manager, a model philanthropist, an effective leader, and a committed family man with strong social values.
The Alumni Horizon Award honours young alumni who have realized extraordinary achievements before the age of 35.
Egyptian-born Ms. Shehata has already celebrated many successes in her 28 years. She earned her first degree in Cairo, Egypt, moving to St. John’s, NL, in 2002 to attend Memorial University under Dr. Alan Pater’s supervision. Today, with three degrees in hand – and a PhD in cellular and molecular medicine to follow this fall from the University of Ottawa – Ms. Shehata feels it important to encourage and support others while advancing through the various stages of her own professional development.
The Alumni Award for Outstanding Community Service acknowledges individuals who have given freely of themselves in order to improve the lives of people and their communities. For Ms. Greene, this has found expression in her visionary work as one of this country’s leading social justice advocates. As the executive director of Stella Burry Community Services, Ms. Greene is widely acknowledged as a foremost leader in the development of programs and services for people who have been marginalized by life circumstances or illness. Creative and far-sighted strategies developed by Ms. Greene to enable individuals with mental health issues to become full participants in their communities have been widely cited across Canada.
The J.D. Eaton Alumni Award recognizes exceptional leadership and outstanding service to Memorial University. For Dr. Gulliver, this means giving back to a community that gave him so much. Even before graduating from Memorial’s Faculty of Medicine in 1982, he realized the importance of supporting physicians and researchers as well as new entrants to the medical field. His response was to get involved.
Alumni Tribute Awards will be presented during a gala evening with emcee Krysta Rudofsky at the R. Gushue Hall in St. John’s. Major sponsors include Johnson Inc., Newfoundland Power, The Telegram, and Aliant/Xwave in conjunction with Memorial University. The gala includes a welcoming reception, a four-course dinner, musical entertainment, and the awards presentation.

- 30 -

For further information, please contact Dawn Roche, communications co-ordinator, Alumni Affairs and Development, Memorial University of Newfoundland, at (709) 737-2620 or


Marketing & Communications

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000