News Releases

The Divison of Marketing and Communications provides access to the most up-to-date information released by Memorial University of Newfoundland. Archives of previous news releases are also available.

To access news releases from Grenfell Campus please click here.

REF NO.: 108

SUBJECT: Memorial University announces approval of three new research chairs

DATE: March 18

A recent announcement made by federal Industry Minister, Allan Rock, included the approval of three new Tier I Canada Research Chairs positions for Memorial University. A research chair is faculty position created to focus on research in a particular academic area. The chairs include $200,000 per annum for salary and research support. The chairs were awarded to Dr. Neil Bose, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science for Offshore and Underwater Vehicles Design, Dr. Dale Corbett, Faculty of Medicine for Stroke and Neuroplasticity and Dr. Rangaswamy Seshadri, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science for Asset Integrity Management.

"The Canada Research Chairs Program is one we can be proud of. It will serve three generations of scholars and scientists: the senior researchers, the younger ones and the graduate students who will benefit greatly by being able to work with world-class researchers in a high-profile environment," Mr. Rock said. "Congratulations to all new chair recipients."

"The Canada Research Chairs program has recognized the outstanding achievements of three eminent researchers at Memorial University," said Dr. Christopher Loomis, Memorial's vice-president, (research and international relations).

"The program is playing an important role in helping us build research capacity and retain our academic leaders."

The Canada Research Chairs program was established by the Government of Canada to enable Canadian universities to achieve the highest levels of research excellence. In its 2000 budget, the federal government provided $900 million to support the establishment of 2000 Canada Research Chairs in universities across the country by 2003/2004. The program is designed to enable Canadian universities to create outstanding research opportunities that will attract researchers with international reputations. Memorial is currently searching for nine additional Canada Research Chairs positions and it is expected that over the five-year span of the CRC program, Memorial will be eligible for approximately twenty-five positions.

For more information on the Canada Research Chair Program, please consult the web site at:

{Dr. Neil Bose}
Dr. Neil Bose
(click for large version)

{Dr. Dale Corbett}
Dr. Dale Corbett
(click for large version)

{Dr. Rangaswamy Seshadri}
Dr. Rangaswamy Seshadri
(click for large version)

- 30 -


Marketing & Communications

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000