News Release

REF NO.: 108

SUBJECT: Sixth annual SPARKS Literary Festival

DATE: January 23, 2015

Note to editors:

Media are invited to the sixth annual SPARKS Literary Festival on Sunday, Jan. 25, at Memorial University’s Suncor Energy Hall in the School of Music.

Celebrating the written and spoken word in Newfoundland and Labrador, this day-long event (10 a.m.-6 p.m.) features sixteen of Newfoundland and Labrador’s new and established writers of fiction, non-fiction and poetry.

Participants include Don Austin, Melissa Barbeau, Michael Crummey, Stan Dragland, Jenny Higgins, Ed Kavanagh, Thomas McCarthy, Don McKay, Linden MacIntyre, Janet McNaughton, Lisa Moore, Beth Ryan, Leslie Vryenhoek,Tracy Waddleton, Russell Wangersky and Shoshanna Wingate.

In addition, the winner of the fourth annual $2,500 Cox & Palmer SPARKS Literary Award will be announced during the day’s closing session at approximately 5:45 p.m. Please visit www.arts.mun.ca/sparks for a complete schedule.

- 30 -