News Release

REF NO.: 152

SUBJECT: Memorial University to present 33rd annual Alumni Tribute Awards

DATE: May 13, 2015

Note to editors:

Dr. Gary Kachanoski, president and vice-chancellor, Memorial University of Newfoundland, will host the 33rd annual Alumni Tribute Awards tomorrow, Thursday, May 14, in R. Gushue Hall on the St. John’s campus.

A reception begins at 6 p.m. and the awards ceremony begins at 7 p.m.

Memorial’s Alumni Tribute Awards are the highest honour bestowed by the alumni body on Memorial graduates who've made tremendous contributions at home and around the world.

The honourees are as follows:

  • Jane Rowe, B.Comm.(Hons.)(Co-op.)’81, Alumna of the Year;
  • Robert Crosbie, B.Comm.(Co-op.)’79, J.D. Eaton Alumni Award;
  • Thomas Maddox, BA, B.Ed.’70, Outstanding Community Service Award; and
  • Mark O’Brien, BA’10, Alumni Horizon Award recipient.


Media agencies are invited to attend. Please enter via the Irwin’s Road entrance of R. Gushue Hall. Parking is available in all lots on the St. John’s campus.

- 30 -