News Release

REF NO.: 32

SUBJECT: PSA: Memorial University Reunion 2013 – 32nd Alumni Tribute Awards

DATE: October 10, 2013

As part of havin’ a time: Reunion 2013, Memorial University is proud to shine the spotlight on four remarkable graduates during the 32nd Alumni Tribute Awards.
The ceremony will take place on Monday, Oct. 21, at 6 p.m. at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland in St. John’s.
The Alumnus of the Year Award will be presented to Brendan Paddick, chairman and chief executive officer of Columbus International Inc., a privately held corporation with Newfoundland roots.
Eleanor Swanson will receive this year’s J.D. Eaton Award that recognizes leadership and outstanding contributions to Memorial University that have enhanced the stature, reputation and overall strength of the university.
Francis (Frank) Durnford, will receive the Horizon Award, recognizing exceptional achievement by alumni under the age of 35. He is the executive director and president of the energy4everyone Foundation.
The Outstanding Community Service Award will be presented to Randy Murphy, the founding member of the East Coast Trail Association.
To purchase tickets, please call the office of Alumni Affairs and Development at 1-877-700-4081 or email rsvpalumni@mun.ca. Tickets are $125 per person and only available in advance.
For more information and to register for Reunion 2013 events, visit reunion.mun.ca.

- 30 -