News Release

REF NO.: 31

SUBJECT: Memorial University kicks off havin’ a time: Reunion 2013

DATE: October 17, 2013

Note to editors:
Memorial’s St. John’s campus is ready to have a time! After months of preparation, Reunion 2013 kicked off today, Thursday, Oct. 17. This year’s festivities coincide with MUNdays, Memorial’s flagship spirit event.
Below are some of the highlights of events taking place during Reunion 2013 that media may wish to attend in St. John’s:
Friday Night Faculty Celebrations
See www.reunion.mun.ca for details.
Sea-Hawks Tailgate Party
Saturday, Oct. 19, 2-7 p.m., King George V soccer pitch, Quidi Vidi, St. John’s.
President’s Golden Celebration
Saturday, Oct. 19, 7 p.m., D.F. Cook Recital Hall, School of Music.
Join Dr. Gary Kachanoski, president and vice-chancellor, Memorial University of Newfoundland, as he welcomes 110 of Memorial’s earliest graduates to a ceremony in recognition of alumni celebrating 50-plus years of graduation.
Super TSC Night
Saturday, Oct. 19, doors open at 7 p.m., concert starts at 8 p.m., Club One, George Street
Get ready to dance the night away with music from Abbey Road: A Tribute to the Beatles, the Barry Canning Band and Chris Kirby and the Marquee, plus hosts Mark O’Brien of Republic of Doyle and Phil Churchill from The Once.
2013 Alumni Tribute Awards
Monday, Oct. 21, at 7 p.m., at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland.
This evening of celebration will shine the spotlight on four outstanding graduates.
The 2013 recipients are as follows:
The Alumnus of the Year Award will be presented to Brendan Paddick (B.Comm.(Co-op.) ’86, MBA’94) chairman and chief executive officer of Columbus International Inc., a privately held corporation with Newfoundland roots.
Eleanor Swanson (M.Ed.’77) will receive this year’s J.D. Eaton Award that recognizes leadership and outstanding contributions to Memorial University that have enhanced the stature, reputation and overall strength of the university.
Francis (Frank) Durnford (BA(Hons.)’03) will receive the Horizon Award, recognizing exceptional achievement by alumni under the age of 35. He is the executive director and president of the energy4everyone Foundation.
The Outstanding Community Service Award will be presented to Randy Murphy (B.Comm.’72) the founding member of the East Coast Trail Association.
A full schedule of events can be found at www.reunion.mun.ca.

- 30 -