News Release

REF NO.: 70

SUBJECT: Memorial’s entrance scholarship dinner celebrates recipients and donors

DATE: November 10, 2011

Memorial University will celebrate more than 900 student recipients and 59 donors at its 10th Annual Entrance Scholarship Dinner on Monday, Nov. 14. 
Sean Kennedy, recipient of the Dr. Leslie Harris Memorial University Alumni Association Scholarship, will be one of the students recognized at the event.
“It's always encouraging to be rewarded for the work and effort that you put in to something,” said Mr. Kennedy.  “This scholarship now allows me to experience all that post-secondary education has to offer, from getting involved on campus to rigorous academics, without having to even think or worry about where the money is going to come from to pay for it.”
Among the scholarship donors in attendance will be Ms. Joyce Noseworthy, Canadian Federation of University Women; Frank Fry, executive director, Fry Family Foundation; and Susan Patten, chairperson, Browning Harvey Limited.
Also in attendance will be Dr. Gary Kachanoski, president and vice-chancellor of Memorial University; Dr. Rob Shea, deputy provost (students) and associate vice-president (academic) undergraduate studies pro tempore; and Mr. Baxter Rose, deputy minister, Department of Advanced Education and Skills, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador.
The event will run from 5:30-7 p.m. on Monday, Nov.14, at the Holiday Inn, 180 Portugal Cove Rd., St. John’s. 

- 30 -