News Release

REF NO.: 84

SUBJECT: Memorial honouring outstanding faculty and staff members for 2010

DATE: December 3, 2010

Note to editors:
            Memorial University will recognize some of its distinguished educators, researchers and staff members during a special ceremony Dec. 7 at the Suncor Energy Fluvarium in St. John’s.
            Thirteen faculty and staff members will be honoured at the luncheon, hosted by Dr. Gary Kachanoski, president and vice-chancellor of Memorial.
The 13 recipients of the President’s Awards are divided into five special categories:
           Distinguished Teaching: Dr. Leslie Phillips of the School of Pharmacy and Dr. Kati Szego of the School of Music
           Outstanding Research: Dr. Maria Mathews of the Faculty of Medicine and Dr. Marco Merkli of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics
           University Research Professors: Dr. Wolfgang Banzhaf of the Department of Computer Science and Dr. Mary Courage of the Department of Psychology
           Exemplary Service: Lynn Best, Human Resources; Marilyn Forward, Community Education and College Relations; Richard Predham, Computing and Communications; Jane Ryan, Queen Elizabeth II Library; and Ann Marie Vaughan, Distance Education and Learning Technologies
           Exceptional Community Service: Dr. Mahmoud Haddara of the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science and Martha MacDonald of the Labrador Institute
            The reception will take place from 12-2 p.m. Media agencies are invited to send representatives.

- 30 -