News Release

REF NO.: 262

SUBJECT: 2011 Alumni Tribute Awards recipients announced

DATE: August 31, 2011

            Memorial University is proud to announce the 2011 recipients of the Alumni Tribute Awards. The awards recognize individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to their communities and to Memorial University of Newfoundland. The four recipients of the 2011 Alumni Tribute Awards are:
  Rhonda Zygocki (B.Eng.’80) will receive the Alumna of the Year Award. Ms. Zygocki is currently the executive vice-president of policy and planning with Chevron Corporation. Over the course of a career spanning more than 30 years with Chevron, Ms. Zygocki has taken on roles of increasing responsibility that have taken her all over the world. Her progressive corporate policy initiatives in the areas of health, environment, safety and community engagement on behalf of Chevron have been felt worldwide.
•  Fred Best, B.Ed., ’58, BA’65) is being recognized with the Alumni Award for Outstanding Community Service. Mr. Best has demonstrated remarkable dedication to the town of Clarenville and the province of Newfoundland and Labrador. A former teacher and principal and long-serving mayor of Clarenville, Mr. Best has also served on many boards and volunteered in a variety of capacities over the course of his career.
   Elizabeth Scammell-Reynolds (BA’58, B.Ed.’74, M.Ed.’79) is this year’s recipient of the J.D. Eaton Alumni Award. Ms. Scammell-Reynolds has enjoyed a lifelong relationship with Memorial that started on the Parade Street campus. The former professor is a consummate volunteer for Memorial, most notably in her roles as a former member of the Board of Regents and as co-founder of Memorial’s alumni association.
•  Krista Power (B.Sc.’98, B.Sc. (hons.)’00) will receive the Horizon Award, recognizing exceptional achievement by alumni under the age of 35. A research scientist with Agriculture and Agri-food Canada and adjunct professor at the University of Guelph, Ms. Power’s primary research interest is focused on the effects of dietary compounds and extracts on human health. 
            The 30th Annual Alumni Tribute Awards ceremony will take place Oct. 17, at 6 p.m. at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. Brian King is the chair of the Alumni Tribute Awards selection committee and the awards ceremony. To purchase tickets please call the Office of Alumni Affairs and Development at 709-864-4354 or email rsvpalumni@mun.ca. Tickets are $75 per person and are only available in advance.

- 30 -