News Release

REF NO.: 0


DATE: April 5, 2010

Note to editors:
On Wednesday, April 7, 2010, Memorial University will receive a generous donation from Scotiabank to support undergraduate business administration students pursuing international study abroad opportunities.
The donation will be presented at a reception in advance of the Bank’s Annual General Meeting, to be held in St. John’s on April 8. Dr. Christopher W. Loomis, Memorial’s president and vice-chancellor pro tempore; Rick Waugh, President and CEO, Scotiabank; Dr. Wilfred Zerbe, dean, Faculty of Business Administration; the Honourable Dr. John C. Crosbie, Lieutenant-Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador; John Mayberry (Chair of Scotiabank’s Board of Directors); Scotiabankers and Memorial alumni Jane Rowe and Wendy Hannam; as well as members of the university community, will be on hand to celebrate the occasion.
Announcement of Scotiabank donation to Memorial University
Wednesday, April 7, 2010, at 6 p.m. See note to media below
175 Signal Hill Road, St. John’s
Note: Media representatives are invited to attend. Please note that the formal program     will begin promptly at 6:40 p.m. and conclude at 7 p.m.

- 30 -