Search by Topic

In 2003, UNESCO created the Convention for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage. The 2003 Convention aims at safeguarding intangible cultural heritage that is in step with international agreements on human rights and that meets requirements of mutual respect among communities and of sustainable development. As part of its work on the convention, UNESCO divides ICH into five categories. These categories form the basis of Newfoundland and Labrador's Intangible Cultural Heritage Inventory, a record of those traditions that are important to us. If you know of a tradition that should be included here, let us know!

1. Oral Traditions and Expressions

2. Performing Arts

3. Social Practices, Rituals, and Festive Events.

4. Knowledge and Practices Concerning Nature and the Universe 

5. Knowledge and Skills to Produce Traditional Crafts

Other Materials: 




Intangible Cultural Heritage

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000