External Research Awards

Memorial University is home to many outstanding researchers. The work of these individuals (often alongside talented colleagues) has a tremendous impact on our communities and our understanding of the world. It is always a thrill when a dedicated researcher is recognized for their contributions.

On this page we will continue to profile those who have been recently recognized by external agencies. We extend our congratulations to these individuals who have recently been awarded external prizes for outstanding research.

Recent Award Recipients

Barbara Neis 2017 Trevor Bell

Order of Canada
Barbara Neis
Department of Sociology

 Arctic Inspiration Prize
Trevor Bell
Department of Geography
 Claude Daley  Scott Matthews
Fellow, Canadian Academy of Engineering
Claude Daley
Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science
 Fellow, Canadian Academy of Engineering
Brian Veitch
Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science

Have you or someone you know been recently recognized for outstanding research?Please be sure to let us know by contacting Ellen Steinhauer at ellens@mun.ca or Tina Winsor at tinaw@mun.ca.


Awards and Honours

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000