Mineral Deposits

Mineral resources are a backbone of the Newfoundland and Canadian economies. Various faculty members in our Department develop methods for the exploration and evaluation of ores and carry out site investigations using those methods. A large component of this research is currently concerned with geophysical and mineralogical studies of the giant Voisey’s Bay nickel-copper-cobalt deposit of northern Labrador.

Faculty members with ongoing mineral deposit research are:

Voisey’s Bay

Dr. Colin Farquharson

Dr. Charles Hurich

Dr. Graham Layne

Dr. Derek Wilton

Other Deposits

Dr. John Hanchar

Dr. John Jamieson

Dr. Stephen Piercey

Dr. Derek Wilton


Earth Sciences

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000