Faculty

Our regular faculty members, instructors, and administrative staff want to make your experience in our department enriching and positive. We have a broad range of interests and expertise to help guide you through your program.


Dr. Luke Roman

Professor and Department Head 

Office: A 2055
Telephone: (709) 864-8910
Email: romanl@mun.ca

Research Interests: Latin literature; literary theory and aesthetics; Rome; Renaissance humanism; ideas of place and space.

More Info


Dr. Tana Allen

Professor and Associate Dean of Humanities and Social Sciences (Research)

Office: A 2063
Telephone: (709) 864-4548
Email:tallen@mun.ca

Research Interests: Ancient history; Classical art and archaeology; Ancient science and medicine; Roman social history.

More Info


B. Levett Picture

Dr. Brad Levett

Associate Professor and Graduate Officer

Office: A 2060
Telephone: (709) 864-8595
Email: blevett@mun.ca

Research Interests: Greek literature; Ancient philosophy.

More Info


M. Nikolic Picture

Dr. Milo Nikolic

Associate Professor

Office: A 2058
Telephone: (709) 864-8708
Email: mnikolic@mun.ca

Research Interests: Ancient Technology; Ancient Art & Architecture; Roman northern frontier.

More Info


K A O Simonsen

Dr. Kathryn A. O. Simonsen

Associate Professor and Undergraduate Liaison

Office: A 2061
Telephone: (709) 864-8531
Email: kathryns@mun.ca

Research Interests: History of Classical and Archaic Greece; Culture of Classical and Archaic Greece.

More Info 


Dr. Kevin Solez

Visiting Assistant Professor

Office: A 2059
Telephone: (709) 864-7914
Email: ksolez@mun.ca


Research interests: Homer, archaic Greece, the Iron Age Mediterranean, the Greek-Near Eastern interface, ancient diplomacy, food studies, anthropological and cognitive approaches to Greek and Roman literature.


Contact

Department of Classics

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000