2015-16 Grant Recipients

The BCECM is pleased to announce the recipients of grants in the 2015-16 competition.

Research Grants

Dr. Jane Gosine: “Better Breathing Choir: Exploring the benefits of singing for individuals living with Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) – pilot study”

Drs. Caroline Schiller and Jane Leibel: “Voice Workshop for Solo and Choral Singers with Karen Brunssen”

Dr. Chris Tonelli: “Extended Voice Workshop Series with Michael Edward Edgerton”


Community Project Grants

Alta Voce: “Central Choir Celebration”

Atlantic Vocal Ensemble: “Commissioning Newfoundland Choral Works”

Gower Street United Church Senior Choir: “Choral scholars”

Lady Cove: “Lady Cove in Labrador”

Project Grace: “Patricia Young Youth Choral Academy”

Shallaway: “A Joyful Noise! Workshop and concert with Rollo Dilworth”

Stella’s Circle: “Everyone Has a Voice: Video production Inclusion Choir”


Professional Development Grants

Deirdre Costello: American Choral Directors Association (ACDA) Children and Community Youth Choir Conductors’ Retreat

Jennifer Hart: American Choral Directors Association (ACDA)

Sophia Werden Abrams: National Youth Choir/Podium, Edmonton

Christopher Ryan: Rollo Dilworth workshops, St. John’s 

Shawn Bennett: Voices of Ascension Conductors' Academy, New York

Amy Henderson: Voices of Ascension Conductors' Academy, New York


For information on upcoming grants, please contact choralcentre@mun.ca.

For interest in 2016-17 grants, e-mail us at choralcentre@mun.ca.