Members of Senate

Sept. 1, 2021 - Aug. 31, 2022


Dr. Susan Dyer Knight


Dr. Vianne Timmons, President and Vice-Chancellor


Dr. Florentine Strzelczyk, Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

Secretary of Senate

Ms. Michelle H. Snow

Ex-officio Members
Dr. Neil Bose Vice-President (Research)
Dr. Rob SheaVice-President (Marine Institute) pro tempore
Dr. Ian SutherlandVice-President pro tempore (Grenfell Campus)
Dr. Donna Hardy Cox Associate Vice-President (Academic), Students
Dr. Gavan Watson Associate Vice-President, Teaching and Learning and Director of the Centre for Innovation in Teaching and Learning (CITL)
Dr. Amy WarrenAssociate Vice-President (Academic) and Dean, Graduate Studies
Ms. Janet BangmaInterim Dean, University Libraries
Dr. Ashlee CunsoloInterim Dean, School of Arctic and Sub-Arctic Studies (Aug 1, 2020-July 31, 2022)
Dr. Ken Jacobsen Interim Dean, School of Arts and Social Science (Grenfell Campus)
Dr. Isabelle Dostaler Dean, Faculty of Business Administration
Dr. Gerald Galway Dean pro tempore, Faculty of Education
Dr. Greg Naterer Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science
Dr. Dennis PetersActing Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science (November 1, 2020-January 31, 2021)
Dr. Todd Hennessey Dean, School of Fine Arts (Grenfell Campus)
Dr. Anne Marie SullivanInterim Dean, School of Human Kinetics and Recreation
Dr. Ailsa Craig Interim Dean, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Dr. Margaret Steele Dean, Faculty of Medicine
Dr. Karen BulmerActing Dean, School of Music
Dr. Alice Gaudine Dean, Faculty of Nursing
Dr. Shawn Bugden Dean, School of Pharmacy
Dr. Travis Fridgen Dean, Faculty of Science
Dr. Michele Piercey-Normore Dean, School of Science and Environment (Grenfell Campus)
Dr. Paul Banahene Adjei Interim Dean, School of Social Work
Ms. Candice Ennis-Williams Post-Secondary Education, Advanced Education, Skills and Labour
Ms. Jennifer PorterInterim University Registrar

Elected Members
NameConstituencyTerm Expiration
Dr. Rie Croll  Arts and Social Science (Grenfell Campus) 2022
Dr. Shoshannah Ganz  Arts and Social Science (Grenfell Campus) 2022
Dr. Emmanuel Haven Business Administration 2023
Ms. Heather Skanes Business Administration 2023
Dr. Kirk AndersonEducation2022
Dr. Mary Stordy Education 2022
Mr. Pat SullivanEngineering and Applied Science2024
Dr. Dennis Peters Engineering & Applied Science 2023
Dr. Kenneth Snelgrove Engineering & Applied Science 2023
Dr. Glyn George Engineering & Applied Science 2024
Dr. Gerard CurtisFine Arts (Grenfell Campus)2023
Mr. Jerry EtienneFine Arts (Grenfell Campus)2023
Dr. David Behm Human Kinetics & Recreation 2022
Dr. Kevin Power Human Kinetics & Recreation 2022
VacantHumanities and Social Sciences2023
Dr. Amanda BittnerHumanities and Social Sciences2024
Dr. Norm CattoHumanities and Social Sciences2024
Dr. Rose RicciardelliHumanities and Social Sciences2024
Dr. Jennifer Lokash Humanities and Social Sciences 2022
Dr. Seamus O'Neill Humanities and Social Sciences 2022
Mr. Danial Duda Library2022
Dr. Jillian Westcott Marine Institute 2024
Ms. Charlene WalshMarine Institute2023
Dr. Mervin MarshallMarine Institute2023
Mr. Paul Brett Marine Institute 2022
Mr. Cyr Couturier Marine Institute 2022
Mr. Ed. Durnford Marine Institute 2022
Dr. Kathleen HodgkinsonMedicine2024
Dr. Laurie TwellsMedicine2024
Dr. Jeremy PridhamMedicine2024
Dr. Danielle O'KeefeMedicine2023
Dr. Edward Kendall Medicine 2023
Dr. Jennifer FlynnMedicine 2023
Dr. Caroline Schiller Music 2022
Dr. Sandra MacDonald Nursing 2022
Dr. April PikeNursing2024
Dr. Debbie KellyPharmacy2024
Dr. John HawboldtPharmacy2023
Dr. Ronald Haynes Science 2024
Dr. Craig PurchaseScience2023
Dr. Steven Carr Science 2022
Dr. Graham Cox Science 2022
Dr. Erika Merschrod Science 2022
Dr. Svetiana Barkanova Science and the Environment (Grenfell Campus) 2022
Dr. Morteza Haghiri Science and the Environment (Grenfell Campus) 2022
VacantSocial Work 2023
Dr. Paul IssahakuSocial Work 2024


Student appointments run from May to April 30 the following year. Current appointments expire on April 30, 2022.

Graduate Students
Mr. Sudipta Bhowmick
Mr. Ali Ghamartale
Mr. M M Baset Mishkat

Undergraduate Students
Ms. Fahmida Ahmed
Mr. Draco Dunphy
Ms. Mary Feltham
Ms. Hilary Hennessey
Ms. Shireen Merchant
Mr. John Mweemba
Ms. Eva Redmond



230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000