Members of Senate

Sept. 1, 2022 - Aug. 31, 2023


Mr. Earl Ludlow


Dr. Vianne Timmons, President and Vice-Chancellor


Dr. Neil Bose, Interim Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

Secretary of Senate

Ms. Michelle H. Snow

Ex-officio Members
Dr. Tana Allen  Interim Vice-President (Research)
Dr. Rob Shea Vice-President (Marine Institute) - on leave
Dr. Paul Brett Acting Vice-President (Marine Institute) 
Dr. Ian Sutherland Vice-President pro tempore (Grenfell Campus)
Dr. Donna Hardy Cox  Associate Vice-President (Academic), Students
Dr. Gavan Watson  Associate Vice-President, Teaching and Learning and Director of the Centre for Innovation in Teaching and Learning (CITL)
Dr. Amy Warren Associate Vice-President (Academic) and Dean, Graduate Studies
Dr. Dianne Keeping  Dean,  Memorial University Libraries
Dr. Ashlee Cunsolo Founding Dean, School of Arctic and Sub-Arctic Studies 
Dr. Ken Jacobsen  Interim Dean, School of Arts and Social Science (Grenfell Campus)
Dr. Travor Brown  Acting Dean, Faculty of Business Administration
Dr. Gerald Galway  Dean pro tempore, Faculty of Education
Dr. Octavia Dobre  Interim Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science
Dr. Dennis Peters Acting Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science (November 1, 2020-January 31, 2021)
Dr. Peter Ride  Dean, School of Fine Arts (Grenfell Campus)
Dr. Anne Marie Sullivan Interim Dean, School of Human Kinetics and Recreation
Dr. Natasha Hurley Dean, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Dr. Margaret Steele  Dean, Faculty of Medicine
Dr. Karen Bulmer Acting Dean, School of Music
Dr. April Pike Interim Dean, Faculty of Nursing
Dr. Shawn Bugden  Dean, School of Pharmacy
Dr. Travis Fridgen  Dean, Faculty of Science
Dr. Morteza Haghiri  Interim Dean, School of Science and Environment (Grenfell Campus)
Dr. Paul Banahene Adjei  Interim Dean, School of Social Work
Ms. Tanya Noseworthy  Post-Secondary Education, Advanced Education, Skills and Labour
Dr. Lee Ann McKivor University Registrar
Dr. Delores Mullings Vice-Provost, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI)

Elected Members
NameConstituencyTerm Expiration
Dr. Edwin Bezzina Arts and Social Science (Grenfell Campus)  2025
Vacant   Arts and Social Science (Grenfell Campus)  2022
Dr. Emmanuel Haven  Business Administration  2023
Ms. Heather Skanes  Business Administration  2023
Dr. Kirk Anderson Education 2025
Dr. Mary Stordy  Education  2025
Mr. Pat Sullivan Engineering and Applied Science 2024
Dr. Dennis Peters  Engineering & Applied Science  2023
Dr. Kenneth Snelgrove  Engineering & Applied Science  2023
Dr. Glyn George  Engineering & Applied Science  2024
Dr. Gerard Curtis Fine Arts (Grenfell Campus) 2023
Mr. Jerry Etienne Fine Arts (Grenfell Campus) 2023
Dr. Dave Hancock Human Kinetics & Recreation  2025
Vacant  Human Kinetics & Recreation  2022
Dr. Amanda Bittner Humanities and Social Sciences 2024
Dr. Norm Catto Humanities and Social Sciences 2024
Vacant Humanities and Social Sciences 2022
Vacant Humanities and Social Sciences 2022
Vacant  Humanities and Social Sciences  2022
Vacant  Humanities and Social Sciences  2022
Ms. Rebecca Smith Library 2025
Ms. Heather Pretty Library 2025
Dr. Jillian Westcott  Marine Institute  2024
Ms. Charlene Walsh Marine Institute 2023
Dr. Mervin Marshall Marine Institute 2023
Dr. Sherrylynn Rowe Marine Institute  2025
Mr. Cyr Couturier  Marine Institute  2025
Mr. Ed. Durnford  Marine Institute  2025
Dr. Kathleen Hodgkinson Medicine 2024
Dr. Laurie Twells Medicine 2024
Dr. Jeremy Pridham Medicine 2024
Dr. Danielle O'Keefe Medicine 2023
Dr. Edward Kendall  Medicine  2023
Dr. Jennifer Flynn Medicine  2023
Dr. Kati Szego Music 2025
Vacant  Music  2023
Dr. Sandra MacDonald  Nursing  2022
Dr. Robin Devey-Burry Nursing 2025
Dr. Debbie Kelly Pharmacy 2024
Dr. John Hawboldt Pharmacy 2023
Dr. Ronald Haynes  Science  2024
Dr. Christopher Kozak Science 2024
Dr. Craig Purchase Science 2023
Dr. Tom Chapman Science  2025
Dr. Penny Morrill Science  2025
Dr. Francis Bambico Science  2025
Dr. Erin Fraser Science and the Environment (Grenfell Campus)  2025
Dr. Shegufta Shetranjiwalla  Science and the Environment (Grenfell Campus)  2025
Vacant Social Work  2023
Dr. Paul Issahaku Social Work  2024
Dr. Scott Neilsen Labrador Campus 2025
Dr. Sylvia Moore Labrador Campus 2025



Student appointments run from May to April 30 the following year. Current appointments expire on April 30, 2022.

Graduate Students
Mr.Nafis Akib
Md. Maha Chowdhury


Undergraduate Students
Mr. Jawad Chowdhury
Ms. Isabel Ojeda
Ms. Shireen Merchant