News Release

REF NO.: 35

SUBJECT: Memorial University to present 2013 Alumni Tribute Awards

DATE: October 21, 2013

Note to editors:
Dr. Gary Kachanoski, president and vice-chancellor, Memorial University of Newfoundland, will host an evening of celebration and shine the spotlight on four outstanding graduates during the 2013 Alumni Tribute Awards, tonight, Monday, Oct. 21, at 7 p.m. at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland in St. John’s.
Media agencies are invited to send representatives to the event.
The 2013 recipients are as follows:
The Alumnus of the Year Award will be presented to Brendan Paddick (B.Comm.(Co-op.)’86, MBA’94), chairman and chief executive officer of Columbus International Inc., a privately held corporation with Newfoundland and Labrador roots.
Eleanor Swanson (M.Ed.’77) will receive this year’s J.D. Eaton Award, which recognizes leadership and outstanding contributions to Memorial University that have enhanced the stature, reputation, and overall strength of the university.
Francis (Frank) Durnford (BA (Hons.)’03)  will receive the Horizon Award, recognizing exceptional achievement by alumni under the age of 35. He is the executive director and president of the energy4everyone Foundation.
The Outstanding Community Service Award will be presented to Randy Murphy (B.Comm.’72), the founding member of the East Coast Trail Association.

- 30 -