News Release

REF NO.: 69

SUBJECT: Memorial University pharmacy professor receives national awards

DATE: December 17, 2013

Dr. Lisa Bishop has received two national awards from the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists (CSHP). She was recently conferred as a fellow of the organization and also named this year’s recipient of the Isabel E. Stauffer Meritorious Service Award. Both honours will be officially presented in February 2014 at the CSHP Professional Practice Conference in Toronto, Ont.
The fellow program was started more than 40 years ago and it distinguishes individuals who have made a significant, long-term and sustained contribution to CSHP and the profession of pharmacy through outstanding leadership, dedication and commitment to practice excellence and professional growth.
This may be achieved in a variety of areas of service to the society, to patient care, to education or research, and to the profession.
The Isabel E. Stauffer Meritorious Service Award recognizes prolonged service and contributions specifically to CSHP, primarily at the branch or chapter level.
Both awards are based on Dr. Bishop’s exceptional record of achievement that spans an 18-year career in pharmacy education and clinical practice in hospital and community settings.
“I feel very honoured that the society has recognized my contribution to our local CSHP branch and the profession of pharmacy,” said Dr. Bishop. “My commitment to CSHP is based on the fact that I believe in the society and what it does to advance hospital and clinical practice in this province.”
A graduate of Memorial University’s pharmacy program, Dr. Bishop began working as a staff hospital pharmacist and a community relief pharmacist in St. John’s before going on to complete a hospital pharmacy residency at St. Joseph’s Hospital in Hamilton, Ont.
Dr. Bishop returned to Newfoundland and Labrador in 1998 and began working as a critical care pharmacist with the Health Care Corporation of St. John’s, a position she held until 2006 when she joined Memorial’s School of Pharmacy as a clinical faculty member.
She completed her doctor of pharmacy from the University of Colorado in 2007. Dr. Bishop is currently an assistant professor at the school with a cross appointment to Memorial’s Faculty of Medicine. She also works as a family practice pharmacist in an interdisciplinary teaching clinic.
An accomplished scholar and educator, Dr. Bishop has received the Award for Teaching Excellence from Memorial’s School of Pharmacy on two occasions and has been recognized with several awards for her commitment to the pharmacy profession. Notable among these include Preceptor of the Year for the University of Colorado in 2010 and the Alfred G. Dawe Distinguished Service Award in 2006 for her contributions to CSHP at the branch level. Since 1996, Dr. Bishop has served at the executive level for the CSHP-NL branch in the roles of treasurer, secretary, president and senior advisor, the latter a position she has held since 2005.
Dr. Jason Kielly, president of CSHP’s Newfoundland and Labrador branch and an assistant professor at Memorial’s School of Pharmacy, nominated Dr. Bishop for the Isabel E. Stauffer Meritorious Service Award and also recommended conferring her as a CSHP fellow.
“I am not sure we would have a local CSHP branch today without her efforts,” said Dr. Kielly. “Lisa has been a member of the branch executive for 17 years, an impressive record considering the branch was founded 18 years ago.
She’s the reason our branch has been able to survive and act as an advocate for hospital pharmacists and the profession of pharmacy. There is no person more deserving of fellow status or the Stauffer Award than Dr. Bishop.”
The Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists is a national, voluntary organization of pharmacists committed to patient care through the advancement of safe, effective medication use in hospitals and other collaborative healthcare settings. Committing to advancing hospital pharmacy practice in Canada, CSHP is an advocate for the profession and is focused on equipping pharmacists to enable the greatest potential for practice.

- 30 -