News Release

REF NO.: 43

SUBJECT: Memorial University to host 30th Annual Alumni Tribute awards dinner to recognize alumni for outstanding accomplishments

DATE: October 17, 2011

Note to editors:
On Monday, Oct. 17, at 6 p.m., Memorial University will host the 30th Annual Alumni Tribute Awards to recognize alumni who have made an outstanding contribution to their communities and to Memorial University of Newfoundland.
Dr. Gary Kachanoski, Memorial’s president and vice-chancellor, emcee Pete Soucy and University Orator Dr. William Pryse-Phillips will be on hand with special guests, alumni, senior university officials, friends and Tribute Awards committee members.
Alumni to be recognized include Ms. Rhonda Zygocki, Alumna of the Year; Dr. Krista Power, Horizon Award; Mr. Fred Best, Outstanding Community Service; and Ms. Elizabeth Scammell-Reynolds, JD Eaton Award.
The event takes place at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland in St. John’s.
Media representatives are invited to attend.

- 30 -