News Release

REF NO.: 149

SUBJECT: Memorial University students, faculty and staff honoured at annual volunteer day celebrations

DATE: March 22, 2012

            The spotlight was on volunteers yet again at Memorial University on Wednesday, March 21, during the 26th annual MUN Volunteer Day Awards.
            The award for Student Volunteer of the Year went to Miranda Polgar. Jeff Walsh took home the David Kirkland Student Leadership Award.
            Bowater House was named Volunteer Residence of the Year, while Coughlan House received the Glenn Roy Blundon Award for excellence in disability accommodation.
            Volunteer Student Group of the Year went to MUNIranians.
            Barbara Roebothan, with the Faculty of Medicine, received the award for  Faculty Volunteer of the Year and Carla Myrick, of the Marine Institute, was named Staff Volunteer of the Year.
            Dr. Rob Shea, deputy provost and associate vice-president (academic) pro-tempore, along with Nick McGrath, minister responsible for the voluntary and non-profit sector, and Michael Walsh, executive director of external affairs with the Memorial University Students’ Union (MUNSU), each thanked the volunteers for their efforts and spoke of the significance of volunteerism.
            Minister McGrath summarized that importance in his opening, stating simply: “volunteers make things happen.”
            Dr. Shea, Minister McGrath and Mr. Walsh, along with special guests including members of the Blundon family and David Kirkland, presented the certificates of nomination and awards.
            The celebration, hosted by the Student Volunteer Bureau (SVB) is a partnership of the Department of Career Development and Experiential Learning (CDEL) and MUNSU. MUN Volunteer Day honours students, employees, faculty and staff for their exceptional contributions to the university, the community and around the world.

- 30 -