Academic Advice

Students looking for advice in declaring a particular major within the Faculty of Arts or students looking for advice on course selection for their declared majors should contact the Undergraduate Academic Advisor in the department of their major for assistance.

Undergraduate Academic Advisors

DepartmentNameE-Mail AddressPhoneRoom
Anthropology Lincoln Addison laddison@mun.ca 7818 QC4014
Archaeology Vaughan Grimes vgrimes@mun.ca 8861 QC2008
Classics Brad Levett blevett@mun.ca 8595 A2060
Economics Scott Lynch lynch@mun.ca 8294 A3084
English Nava Bobby nbobby@mun.ca 8061 A3022
Folklore

Jillian Gould

jgould@mun.ca 3244 ED4044
French Magessa O'Reilly moreilly@mun.ca 8580 SN4029
Gender Studies Sonja Boon sboon@mun.ca 2551 SN4080
Geography Norm Catto ncatto@mun.ca 7417 SN2012A
German John Buffinga johnb@mun.ca 8826 SN3057
History Marica Cassis mcassis@mun.ca 3091 A4008
Linguistics Philip Branigan branigan@mun.ca 3017 SN3050C
Philosophy Seamus O'Neill sjoneill@mun.ca 8332 A3100
Political Science Kelly Blidook  kblidook@mun.ca 8184 SN2042
Religious Studies Barry Stephenson bstephenson@mun.ca 8113 A5026
Russian Stuart Durrant jsdurrant@mun.ca 8641 SN3059
Sociology Mark Stoddart mstoddart@mun.ca 8862 A4070
         

Students with general questions about possible degree programs, degree requirements and academic advice in the Faculty of Arts should contact: 

Denise Hooper
Senior Academic Advisor for Arts.
9 am – 5 pm Monday to Friday
9 am – 4:30 pm during the summer (June, July, August)
A-2070 (Arts and Administration)
864-8363
deniseh@mun.ca

Undergraduate students with questions about an interdisciplinary program of study, diploma programs and certificate programs in the Faculty of Arts should contact:

Renée Shute
Manager of Academic Programs, Faculty of Arts
8:30 am – 4:30 pm Monday to Friday
8:30 am – 4:00 pm during the summer (June, July, August)
AA-4080 (Arts and Administration)
864-7454
rshute@mun.ca

First year students are encouraged to contact the Academic Advising Centre with questions.