President's Award for Public Engagement Partnerships

The call for nominations for the 2023 award has now closed.
Notification to all applicants will take place in late summer/fall, 2023.   

The President's Award for Public Engagement Partnerships celebrates exemplary public engagement partnerships, projects and programs that are active in the current year. 

The winning recipients will be presented with a certificate by the President of Memorial University during the annual President’s Awards ceremony, and the collaboration will receive a cash award of $5000 to support ongoing activities.

Please see our President's Award for Public Engagement Partnerships Guide 2023 for more information.

For questions about the nomination process, please contact

Previous Award Winners

The Phoenix Garden Project (2022 winner) 

Fishing for Success (2021 winner)

Memorial University and SmartICE (2020 winner)

Innu Language Project (ILP). Dr. Marguerite MacKenzie, professor emeritus, Department of Lingusitics (Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences) and Ms. Kanani Penashue-Davis, Mamu Tshishkutamashutau-Innu Education (2019 winner)

Young Adult Cancer Canada. Dr. Sheila Garland, Assistant Professor of Psychology and Oncology, Department of Psychology (Faculty of Science) and Mr. Geoff Eaton, Young Adult Cancer Canada (2018)

25 Years of Community-University Engagement at Ferryland Newfoundland - Dr. Barry Gaulton, Memorial University and Jane Severs, The Colony of Avalon Foundation (2017)

SucSeed Expansion - Dr. Lynn Morrissey, Memorial University & Mr Adam Smith, Choices for Youth (2017)

Double Mer Point: Implementing the Rigolet Inuit Community Government's Tourism Strategy - Dr Lisa Rankin - Memorial University and Mayor Jack Shiwak, Rigolet Inuit Community Government (2016)

Extra Judicial Measures - Dr. Rose Ricciardelli, Memorial University and Peter Clarke, RCMP Newfoundland and Labrador (2016)

The Shea Heights Community Alliance - Drs. Lisa Bishop & Stephen Darcy, Memorial University and Melissa Druken, Shea Heights Community Board (2015)

NunatuKavut Research Ethics Project - Dr. Fern Brunger, Memorial University and Darlene Wall, NunatuKavut Community Council (2015)