Canada Research Chairs

Memorial is home to 12 active Canada Research Chairs, with several nominations pending. Our Canada Research Chairs are held by some of our leading researchers in fields such as Aboriginal studies, marine bioscience, and neuroscience and brain repair.

The Canada Research Chairs Program was established by the Government of Canada to enable Canadian universities to achieve the highest levels of research excellence.

The Chairs Program offers Memorial an opportunity to strengthen its research culture, infrastructure and reputation by retaining outstanding researchers and recruiting new faculty members with exceptional research records.

Senior Chairs (Tier 1)

Tier 1 Chairs, tenable for seven years and renewable, are for outstanding researchers acknowledged by their peers as world leaders in their fields.

Dr. Harris Berger, Canada Research Chair in Ethnomusicology

Dr. Faisal Khan, Canada Research Chair in Offshore Safety and Risk Engineering

Junior Chairs (Tier 2)

Tier 2 Chairs, tenable for five years and renewable once, are for exceptional emerging researchers, acknowledged by their peers as having the potential to lead in their field.

Dr. Alex Bihlo, Canada Research Chair in Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing

Dr. Mario Blaser, Canada Research Chair in Aboriginal Studies

Dr. Julia Christensen, Canada Research Chair in Northern Governance and Public Policy

Dr. Daniel Fuller, Canada Research Chair in Population Physical Activity

Dr. John Jamieson, Canada Research Chair in Marine Geology

Dr. Craig S. Moore, Canada Research Chair in Neuroscience and Brain Repair

Dr. Michelle Ploughman, Canada Research Chair in Rehabilitation, Neuroplasticity and Brain Recovery

Dr. Rachel Sipler, Canada Research Chair in Ocean Biogeochemistry

Dr. Benjamin Zendel, Canada Research Chair in Aging and Auditory Neuroscience 

Dr. Baiyu (Helen) Zhang, Canada Research Chair in Coastal Environmental Engineering



230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000