Contact Information

Mailing Address:

MUN Folklore and Language Archive, Department of Folklore, Room ED4038, G.A.Hickman Building, Memorial University of Newfoundland, St. John's, NL, Canada, A1B 3X8

Telephone: (709) 864-8401

Fax: (709) 864-4718


Hours of Operation:

Monday - Friday, 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM, excluding University holidays (see listing below).

Appointments are encouraged for those who plan extensive research.

How to Find Us:

We are located in Room ED4038 on the 4th floor of the G.A. Hickman Building. Commonly known as the Education Building, the G.A. Hickman Building is located on the corner of Prince Philip Drive and Westerland Road (diagonally across from the Health Sciences Centre) on the St. John's campus of Memorial University of Newfoundland.

campus map

A more detailed campus map is available at the following web page: (We are in Building 6, Zone 2.)


Metered parking (MP) is available at the following locations:

- On Westerland Road, both across from the G.A. Hickman (Education) Building and adjacent to the Field House Complex.

- On Irwin's Road, near the QEII Library.

- On the parking lot (Parking Lot 59) of St. Augustine's Anglican Church, Lambe's Lane (off Westerland Road).

- In front of the Arts & Administration Building (facing Elizabeth Avenue).

University Holidays (for 2016) when MUNFLA will be closed:

Friday, January 1, 2016 New Year's Day
Monday, January 4, 2016 2 January Holiday
Monday, March 14, 2016 Mid-March
Friday, March 25, 2016 Good Friday
Monday, May 23, 2016 Victoria (Commonwealth) Day
Monday, June 27, 2016 Discovery Day
Friday, July 1, 2016 Memorial Day
Monday, July 11, 2016 Mid-July
Wednesday, August 3, 2016 (or as designated) Regatta Day
Monday, September 5, 2016 Labour Day
Monday, October 10, 2016 Thanksgiving
Friday, November 11, 2016 Remembrance Day
Tuesday, December 27, 2016 Christmas Day
Monday, December 26, 2016 Boxing Day