President's Award for Public Engagement Partnerships

Nominations are now open for the 2020 President's Award for Public Engagement Partnerships.

Do you know of an exemplary community-university partnership that is in keeping with the goals of Memorial’s Public Engagement Framework (PEF)?

If so, please consider submitting a nomination through our new platform between June 1 and July 30.  



Click here to downland a sample application form.

If you have any questions about the nomination process or procedure please contact

The winning partnership will be presented with a certificate by the President of Memorial University during the annual President’s Awards ceremony and the collaboration(s) will receive a cash award of $5000 to support ongoing activities.

2019 Award winnerInnu Language Project (ILP). Dr. Marguerite MacKenzie, professor emeritus, Department of Lingusitics (Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences) and Ms. Kanani Penashue-Davis, Mamu Tshishkutamashutau-Innu Education (2019 winner)

Previous Award Winners

Young Adult Cancer Canada. Dr. Sheila Garland, Assistant Professor of Psychology and Oncology, Department of Psychology (Faculty of Science) and Mr. Geoff Eaton, Young Adult Cancer Canada (2018)

25 Years of Community-University Engagement at Ferryland Newfoundland - Dr. Barry Gaulton, Memorial University and Jane Severs, The Colony of Avalon Foundation (2017)

SucSeed Expansion - Dr. Lynn Morrissey, Memorial University & Mr Adam Smith, Choices for Youth (2017)

Double Mer Point: Implementing the Rigolet Inuit Community Government's Tourism Strategy - Dr Lisa Rankin - Memorial University and Mayor Jack Shiwak, Rigolet Inuit Community Government (2016)

Extra Judicial Measures - Dr. Rose Ricciardelli, Memorial University and Peter Clarke, RCMP Newfoundland and Labrador (2016)

The Shea Heights Community Alliance - Drs. Lisa Bishop & Stephen Darcy, Memorial University and Melissa Druken, Shea Heights Community Board (2015)

NunatuKavut Research Ethics Project - Dr. Fern Brunger, Memorial University and Darlene Wall, NunatuKavut Community Council (2015)




Public Engagement

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000