The Discipline of Oncology is comprised of physicians who specialize in the prevention, diagnosis and the treatment of cancer. The services include medical oncology, radiation oncology and surgical oncology. Clinical care is currently provided through the provincial cancer care program with one radiation treatment facility at the Dr. H. Bliss Murphy Cancer Centre in St. John’s. Medical oncology or systemic therapy is available at the Dr. H. Bliss Murphy Centre as well as community cancer clinics throughout the province.

The clinical program also provides consultation service to people living outside of St. John’s through its Teleoncology program. Currently, there are two Geographic Full Time physicians and eight staff physicians affiliated with the University Discipline of Oncology. The Program is actively involved in undergraduate and postgraduate medical education and clinical research.