A Fine Crowd 2016

AUTHORS (2014-15)

A Fine Crowd 2016

The publication of a book is often the culmination of many years of sustained research or concentrated creative energy. This annual event acknowledges the significant achievement of those who wrote or compiled/edited a volume.

(E) after author’s name indicates editor. (T) after author’s name indicates translator

Geomorphology- Landscapes We Live InNorm Catto
Interactive Governance for Small-Scale FisheriesRatana Chuenpagdee (E)
John Dewey’s Earlier Logical TheoryJames Scott Johnston
Teacher Education in a Transnational WorldJames Scott Johnston (E)
Umayichis- a Naskapi Legend
Achan- Naskapi Giant Stories
Marguerite MacKenzie (E) and Julie Brittain (T)
Enlightening Encounters- Photography in Italian LiteratureNancy Pedri (E)
Gender, Livelihood and Environment- How Women Manage ResourcesMarilyn Porter (E)
The Tourism Imaginary and Pilgrimages to the Edges of the WorldSharon Roseman (E)
The Maritime World of the Anglo-SaxonsWilliam Schipper (E)
Patching Peace- Women’s Civil Society Organising in Northern IrelandKatherine Side
Why Did We Choose to Industrialize?- Montreal 1819-1849Robert Sweeny
Ritual- A Very Short IntroductionBarry Stephenson
Unsettling Assumptions- Tradition, Gender, DragDiane Tye (E)
Modeling Cities and Regions as Complex Systems- From Theory to Planning ApplicationsRoger White



Dean's Awards 2016

Distinguished ScholarshipNancy Pedri, English
Graduate SupervisionLarry Matthews, English
Exceptional Service to the FacultyKelly Bromley-Brits
William J. Kirwin Award for Retiree RecognitionPeter Ayres


Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000