Dr. James Tuck Wins NLREDA-Leslie Harris Award for Excellence

Don Beaubier, Hon. Dave Denine, Dr. Rob Greenwood

November 7, 2008, St. John’s, NL—Today, the Newfoundland and Labrador Regional Economic Development Association (NLREDA) announced the winner of the NLREDA-Leslie Harris Award for Excellence by Memorial University Faculty, Staff & Students in Regional Development.

Dr. Tuck is credited with helping to sustain the communities of today, while delving into the roots of cultures that have inhabited Newfoundland and Labrador over thousands of years. As a driving force of the Archaeology Unit of Memorial University, he has helped shape the careers of many aspiring archaeologists from all over the globe. In fact, for many individuals in the field, the name Dr. James Tuck is synonymous with archaeology.

Scholarly research, popular writing, interpretation, education, training, mentoring, community development and tourism have all been affected by this man of international repute. One of his most notable projects is the development of the Colony of Avalon in Ferryland into a source of pride, motivation and economic development for the area. Since the late 1980s, Dr. Tuck has worked hand-in-hand with the people of the area to create business plans, train and supervise archaeological workers, conduct visitations and promote this visionary project.

In 1982, he was elected to fellowship in the Royal Society of Canada. In 2000, he was awarded the Manning Award for Excellence in the Public Preservation of Historic Places. Then, in 2003, the Newfoundland Historical Society awarded him its Heritage Award. He is also the Henrietta Harvey Chair at Memorial University of Newfoundland.

Dr. Tuck’s success in encouraging community development based upon the interpretation and promotion of historic sites is one of the factors that makes him the most respected archaeologist in the province. But equally as important is his ability to evoke a tremendous sense of pride in place and identity.

The award was presented by the Honourable Dave Denine, Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs and Minister Responsible for the Volunteer and Non-Profit Sector. Accepting the award on behalf of Dr. Tuck was Don Beaubier. Also in the photo is Dr. Rob Greenwood, Director of the Harris Centre.


The Harris Centre

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000