Office of the Registrar
General Information (2012/2013)
4 University Diary for the Academic Year 2012-2013

June 1, 2012, Friday

Registration begins for residents and for undergraduate Medical students

July 1, 2012, Sunday

Academic year begins for residents

July 16, 2012, Monday

Registration begins for eligible students registering in undergraduate courses, Fall semester 2012

August 6, 2012, Monday

Deadline for registration and fees payment for interns/residents

Registration begins for graduate students, Fall semester, 2012

August 20, 2012, Monday

Fall Work Term begins for Co-operative Education students

August 20 to 24, 2012,

Monday to Friday

Orientation for new first year Medical students

August 24, 2012, Friday

Deadline for registration for undergraduate Medical students

September 1, 2012, Saturday

Final date for filing applications for admission to graduate programs commencing in Winter semester 2013. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit. Applicants should note that most graduate academic units have earlier deadlines and should be contacted directly for further information

September 3, 2012, Monday

Labour Day. No lectures

  • September 3 & 4, 2012
  • Monday & Tuesday

Orientation for all new first semester undergraduate students

September 4, 2012, Tuesday

Fall internship begins for Education students (Primary/Elementary, Music Education, Native and Northern)

Sessions begin for pre-clerkship medical students

September 5, 2012, Wednesday

Lectures begin, Fall semester

Deadline for fees payment, Fall semester

Deadline for fees payment, undergraduate Medical students, Fall semester

September 11, 2012, Tuesday

Regular meeting of the Senate

September 12, 2012, Wednesday

Final date for receipt, by the Registrar, of replacement grades for "INCOMPLETE" grades in undergraduate and graduate courses, Spring semester (Intersession, Summer Session and 14-week) 2012

September 19, 2012, Wednesday

End of Regular Registration Period and last day for undergraduate and graduate students to add courses, Fall semester

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Fall semester

September 24, 2012, Monday

Fall internship begins for Education students (Intermediate/Secondary)

September 26, 2012, Wednesday

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Fall semester

Final date for graduate students to withdraw from programs without incurring liability for tuition fees, Fall semester

Final date for Departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to be deregistered from graduate Registration 9000/Medicine 9900 without incurring any liability for continuance fees, Fall semester

October 1, 2012, Monday

Final date for filing applications for undergraduate admission/re-admission to Winter semester 2013. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit

October 3, 2012, Wednesday

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Fall semester. No tuition fees are refunded for courses dropped after this date

October 5, 2012, Friday

Annual Fall Convocation, Grenfell Campus session, Corner Brook

Fall internship ends for Education students (Intermediate/Secondary)

October 8, 2012, Monday

Thanksgiving Day. No lectures. Fall Semester Break begins at St. John’s and Grenfell Campuses

October 9, 2012, Tuesday

Regular meeting of the Senate

October 10, 2012, Wednesday

Lectures resume at St. John’s and Grenfell Campuses. Lectures will follow the Monday schedule on this day only

October 11, 2012, Thursday

Lectures will follow the Tuesday schedule on this day only

  • October 18 to 23, 2012
  • Thursday to Tuesday

MUNdays: Join in this annual festival of events at both Grenfell and St. John’s campuses - celebrating creativity, diversity, service and leadership at Memorial University of Newfoundland

October 19, 2012, Friday

Annual Fall Convocation, St. John’s

October 24, 2012, Wednesday

Last day for undergraduate students and graduate students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Fall semester

Final date for Departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to receive a 50% refund of continuance fees, Fall semester

November 5, 2012, Monday

Registration begins for eligible students registering in undergraduate courses, Winter semester 2013

November 9, 2012, Friday

Ceremony of Remembrance, St. John’s: Join the University community to commemorate the people of the Province who fought and died in the First and Second World Wars, and for whom this University is a living memorial

Midterm break for pre-clerkship medical students

November 12, 2012, Monday

Remembrance Day holiday. No lectures

November 13, 2012, Tuesday

Regular meeting of the Senate

Lectures resume for pre-clerkship medical students

November 16, 2012, Friday

Lectures will follow the Monday Schedule on this day only

November 21, 2012, Wednesday

Final date for Departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to receive a 25% refund of continuance fees, Fall semester

November 30, 2012, Friday

Lectures end, Fall semester

Registration begins for graduate students, Winter semester 2013

December 5, 2012, Wednesday

Examinations begin, Fall semester

Final date for submission of Work Reports by Co-operative Education students

December 7, 2012, Friday

Fall internship ends for Education students (Primary/Elementary, Music Education, Native and Northern)

December 11, 2012, Tuesday

Regular meeting of Senate

December 14, 2012, Friday

Examinations end, Fall semester

Sessions end for pre-clerkship medical students

Fall Work Term ends for Co-operative Education students

December 16, 2012, Sunday

Sessions end for clerkship Medical students (class of 2014)

December 21, 2012, Friday

Sessions end for clerkship Medical students (class of 2013)

December 31, 2012, Monday

Sessions begin for clerkship Medical students (class of 2014)

January 1, 2013, Tuesday

Final date for filing applications for admission to graduate programs commencing in Spring semester 2013. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit. Applicants should note that most graduate academic units have earlier deadlines and should be contacted directly for further information

January 2, 2013, Wednesday

Winter Work Term begins for Co-operative Education students

January 3, 2013, Thursday

Sessions begin for pre-clerkship Medical students and clerkship Medical students (class of 2013)

Winter internship begins for Education students (all programs)

January 6, 2013, Sunday

Orientation for all new first semester undergraduate students

January 7, 2013, Monday

Lectures begin, Winter semester

Deadline for fees payment, Winter semester

Deadline for fees payment, undergraduate Medical students, Winter semester

January 8, 2013, Tuesday

Regular meeting of the Senate

January 14, 2013, Monday

Final date for receipt, by the Registrar, of replacement grades for "INCOMPLETE" grades in undergraduate and graduate courses, Fall semester 2012

Final date for submission of Master's and Doctoral Theses and Reports for examination, by candidates who expect to receive their degree at the Spring Convocation 2013. Theses and Reports received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit

January 15, 2013, Tuesday

Final date for filing, with the Registrar, applications for Degrees and Diplomas for the Spring Convocation 2013. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit

January 21, 2013, Monday

End of Regular Registration Period and last day for undergraduate and graduate students to add courses, Winter semester

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Winter semester

January 28, 2013, Monday

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Winter semester

Final date for graduate students to withdraw from programs without incurring liability for tuition fees, Winter semester

Final date for Departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to be deregistered from Graduate Registration 9000/Medicine 9900 without incurring any liability for continuance fees, Winter semester

February 1, 2013, Friday

Final date for filing undergraduate applications for admission/re-admission to Spring semester (14-week, Intersession and Summer Session) 2013. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit

February 4, 2013, Monday

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Winter semester. No tuition fees are refunded for courses dropped after this date

February 12, 2013, Tuesday

Regular meeting of the Senate

February 18, 2013, Monday

Winter semester Break begins at St. John's and Grenfell Campuses

February 21, 2013, Thursday

Lectures resume at St. John's and Grenfell Campuses

February 25, 2013, Monday

Final date for undergraduate and graduate students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Winter semester

Final date for Departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to receive a 50% refund of continuance fees, Winter semester

March 1, 2013, Friday

Final date for filing undergraduate applications for admission/re-admission to Fall semester 2013. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit

March 12, 2013, Tuesday

Regular meeting of the Senate

March 22, 2013, Friday

Sessions end for Spring Break for pre-clerkship Medical students

March 25, 2013, Monday

Registration begins for eligible students registering in undergraduate courses, Spring semester (14-week courses, Intersession and Summer Session) 2013

Final date for Departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to receive a 25% refund of continuance fees, Winter semester

March 28, 2013, Thursday

Winter internship ends for Education students (Intermediate/Secondary)

March 29, 2013, Friday

Good Friday. No classes or examinations

April 1, 2013, Monday

Sessions begin for pre-clerkship Medical students

April 5, 2013, Friday

Lectures end, winter semester

April 9, 2013, Tuesday

Regular meeting of the Senate

April 10, 2013, Wednesday

Examinations begin, Winter semester

Final date for submission of Work Reports by Co-operative Education students

April 12, 2013, Friday

Registration begins for graduate students, Spring semester (14-week courses, Intersession and Summer Session) 2013

Sessions end for clerkship Medical students (class of 2013)

Winter internship ends for Education students (Primary/Elementary, Music Education, Native and Northern)

April 19, 2013, Friday

Examinations end, Winter semester

Winter Work Term ends for Co-operative Education students

April 22, 2013, Monday

Spring Work Term begins for Co-operative Education students

May 1, 2013, Wednesday

Final date for filing applications for admission to graduate programs commencing in Fall semester 2013. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit. Applicants should note that most graduate academic units have earlier deadlines and should be contacted directly for further information

May 6, 2013, Monday

Lectures begin, Intersession and 14-week Spring semester, including for Engineering academic term students

Deadline for fees payment, Spring semester (14-week courses, Intersession and Summer Session)

May 10, 2013, Friday

Annual Spring Convocation, Grenfell Campus session, Corner Brook

May 13, 2013, Monday

Final date for receipt, by the Registrar, of replacement grades for "INCOMPLETE" grades in undergraduate and graduate courses, Winter semester 2013

End of Regular Registration Period and last day for undergraduate and graduate students to add courses, Intersession

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Intersession

May 14, 2013, Tuesday

Regular meeting of the Senate

May 16, 2013, Thursday

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Intersession

May 20, 2013, Monday

End of Regular Registration Period and last day for undergraduate and graduate students to add courses, 14-week Spring semester

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, 14-week Spring semester

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Intersession. No tuition fees will be refunded for Intersession courses dropped after this date

No lectures for pre-clerkship Medical students

May 27, 2013, Monday

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, 14-week Spring semester

Final date for graduate students to withdraw from programs without incurring any liability for tuition fees, 14-week Spring semester

Final date for Departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to be deregistered from Graduate Registration 9000/Medicine 9900 without incurring any liability for continuance fees, Spring semester

May 28, 29, 30 & 31, 2013, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday & Friday

Annual Spring Convocation, St. John’s

May 30, 2013, Thursday

Final date for undergraduate and graduate students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Intersession

June 3, 2013, Monday

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, 14-week Spring semester. No tuition fees will be refunded for 14-week Spring semester courses dropped after this date

June 14, 2013, Friday

Lectures end, Intersession

June 17, 2013, Monday

Examinations begin, Intersession

Semester Break begins, 14-week Spring semester

June 19, 2013, Wednesday

Examinations end, Intersession

June 20, 2013, Thursday

Lectures resume, 14-week Spring semester

June 21, 2013, Friday

Lectures will follow the Monday schedule on this day only

Sessions end for pre-clerkship Medical students

Final date for submission of Master's and Doctoral Theses and Reports for examination, by candidates who expect to receive their degree at the Fall Convocation 2013. Theses and Reports received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit

June 24, 2013, Monday

Lectures begin for undergraduate students and for graduate courses, Summer Session

Final date for undergraduate and graduate students to drop courses without academic prejudice, 14-week Spring semester

Final date for Departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to receive a 50% refund of continuance fees, Spring semester

June 30, 2013, Sunday

Academic year ends for residents

July 1, 2013, Monday

Memorial Day holiday. No lectures

End of Regular Registration Period and last day for undergraduate and graduate students to add courses, Summer Session

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 100% refund of tuition fees, Summer Session

July 4, 2013, Thursday

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 50% refund of tuition fees, Summer Session

July 8, 2013, Monday

Last day for undergraduate students to drop courses and receive a 25% refund of tuition fees, Summer Session. No tuition fees will be refunded for Summer Session courses dropped after this date

July 15, 2013, Monday

Final date for filing, with the Registrar, applications for Degrees and Diplomas for the Fall Convocation 2013. Applications received after this date will be processed as time and resources permit

July 18, 2013, Thursday

Final date for undergraduate and graduate students to drop courses without academic prejudice, Summer Session

July 22, 2013, Monday

Final date for Departments to submit Recommendation for Award of Degree in order for graduate students to receive a 25% refund of continuance fees, Spring semester

August 2, 2013, Friday

Lectures end, 14-week Spring semester, including for Engineering academic term students

August 3, 2013, Saturday

Lectures end, Summer Session

Lectures will follow the Monday schedule for Summer Session courses

August 5, 2013, Monday

Examinations begin, 14-week Spring semester and Summer Session

Final date for submission of Work Reports by Co-operative Education students

August 7, 2013, Wednesday

Examinations end, Summer Session

August 10, 2013, Saturday

Examinations end, 14-week Spring semester

August 16, 2013, Friday

Spring Work Term ends for Co-operative Education students