School of Nursing earns recognition and scholarships at annual event

Jan 3rd, 2014

Marcia Porter

Karen Dobbin-Williams, Drs. Creina Twomey and Robert Meadus
School of Nursing earns recognition and scholarships at annual event

Research that investigates patient satisfaction with health care provided by nurse practitioners (NP) in Newfoundland and Labrador was one of several collaborative projects singled out for nursing research awards during the Association of Registered Nurses of Newfoundland and Labrador's (ARNNL) Education and Research Trust presentation.

Recipients of nursing research awards from the School of Nursing (SON) included Drs. Robert Meadus and Creina Twomey who have teamed up with Profs. Wanda Emberley-Burke and Kelly Power-Kean from the Centre for Nursing Studies (CNS) on the nurse practitioners research project.

Nursing research awards are presented annually by the ARNNL to RNs practicing in NL to support or assist them to carry out nursing research in practice, education or administration. The awards provide seed money for conducting a study.

"The outcomes of the research will contribute to the existing literature on patient satisfaction of NP-delivered health care," said Dr. Twomey who attended the annual presentation along with a large group of nurses, nursing educators, and nursing students from around the province.

Other SON faculty who received nursing research awards include Drs. Sandra Small and April Manuel, along with Joanne Smith-Young, coordinator of the SON Nursing Research Unit.

Dr. Manuel's research project with Dr. Sue Ann Mandville-Anstey of the CNS looks at what life is like for older nurses living and working with cardiovascular disease in Newfoundland and Labrador.

The ARNNL Education and Research Trust Research Award Review Committee reviews all submitted research proposals through a peer review process that considers various criteria.

A number of other awards were presented during the ARNNL event, including master's and PhD scholarships, awards for oncology nursing, primary health care, etc.

School of Nursing faculty member and PhD candidate Prof. Karen Dobbin-Williams received a scholarship for her part-time PhD studies in Community Health and Humanities. The award helps support Prof. Dobbin-Williams research.

Fourth-year SON students Tara Hunt. Megan Steele, Sarah Nurse and Jennifer Guy in the Bachelor of Nursing (Collaborative) program, also received scholarships during the presentation.


School of Nursing

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000