The Discipline of Surgery, Faculty of Medicine, Memorial University has two residency training programs:

1. General Surgery Residency:

General Surgery Residency is a five-year training program aimed to produce broadly-trained surgeons prepared to go to the community to practice. The rotations are designed to cover many different areas, and allow for extensive community training. Upon completion of training, a resident is expected to be a competent specialist in General Surgery capable of assuming a consultant’s role in General Surgery. The resident must acquire a thorough knowledge of the theoretical basis of General Surgery, including its foundations in the basic medical sciences and research.

2. Orthopedic Surgery Residency: 

Orthopedic Surgery Residency is a five-year training program which includes a modified basic clinical year that also meets the criteria laid out by Surgical Foundations. The final three years are completed in orthopedic rotations at the Health Sciences Centre, St. Clare’s Mercy Hospital and the Janeway Children's Hospital. There is also a three month community rotation which can be completed in either Corner Brook or Gander or at an approved community hospital outside the province.

Orthopedic rotations are completed primarily at the Health Sciences Centre or St. Clare’s Mercy Hospital. These sites provide general orthopedic training; however, each site has subspecialty orientation. Additionally, there are three months of plastic surgery (hand and soft tissue injury focus), three months of neurosurgery (spine focus) and six months of pediatric orthopedics which is completed at the Janeway Children's Hospital.

There are between 13 and 15 residents every year.

Residents work in all subspecialties of orthopedics while on service: trauma, arthroplasty, musculoskeletal oncology, upper extremity, hand and wrist, foot and ankle, and spine.

We have a small program with enough clinical material to produce a well-rounded surgeon. The small group allows excellent professional relationships to develop; residents are not lost in the crowd.

Residents frequently participate in social, extra-curricular activities and sports outside the hospital together. 


The Discipline of Surgery faciliates the Undergraduate core clerkship surgical 8-week rotation, which is a component of the Faculty of Medicine's 3rd year Undergradute Medical Education (UGME) program at Memorial University. 

In addition, the Discipline of Surgery oversee the 4th year UGME program's surgery-related elective/selective rotations.  These rotations can be 2 weeks or 4 weeks in duration, depending on site and preceptor availabilities. 

TRAINING SITES (Urban and Rural Locations) 

In St. John's, NL (Eastern Region):

  • The Health Sciences Centre
  • The St. Clare's Mercy Hospital
  • The Janeway Children's Hospital 

In Clarenville, NL (Eastern Region):

  • Dr. G.B. Cross Memorial Hospital 

In Carbonear, NL (Eastern Region):

  • Carbonear General Hopsital

In Gander, NL (Central Region):

  • Dr. James Paton Memorial Hospital

In Grand Falls-Windsor, NL (Central Region):

  • Central NL Regional Health Care Centre

In Corner Brook, NL (Western Region):

  • Western Memorial Hospital

In St. Anthony, NL (Labrador-Grenfell Region):

  • Charles S. Curtis Memorial Hospital

In Saint John, New Brunswick:

  • Saint John Regional Hospital

In Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island:

  • Queen Elizabeth Hospital 


Elective/Selective rotation opportunities for Memorial trainees, as well as*visiting non-Memorial trainees are available in the following surgical subspecialities:

  • Urology
  • ENT 
  • Plastic Surgery
  • Ophthalmology
  • Orthopedic Surgery
  • Orthopedic Pediatric Surgery
  • General Surgery
  • Cardiac Surgery
  • Vascular Surgery
  • Thoracic Surgery
  • Neurosurgery

*For non-Memorial trainees interested in completing an elective/selective rotation with Memorial University are required to contact the following Departments:

For Residents:  The Faculty of Medicine's Postgraduate Medical Education Office
For Medical Students:  The Faculty of Medicine's Undergraduate Medical Education Office