About the DELF

DELF and DALF are six separate diplomas issued by the French Ministry for National Education to certify the language skills of persons whose first language is a language other than French. The six independent diplomas, developed by the Centre International d'Etudes Pédagogiques (CIEP), correspond respectively to the six levels of the Council of Europe's Commom European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFRL). 

The results of these six exams are valid for life. As of 2015, the DELF and DALF examinations are available in 173 countries. The exams evaluate language skills in the following four areas:

  1. Oral Comprehension
  2. Oral Expression
  3. Written Comprehension
  4. Written Expression



The diplomas received by completing the DELF and DALF exams are recognized worldwide. As of September 1, 2015, more than 30,000 Canadians have taken the DELF-DALF exams. As a result, these diplomas add value to resumes and are recognized by a growing number of administrative bodies, employers, and educational institutions as a measure of French as a second language proficiency. 

Earning the DELF level B2 provides exemption from the language test requirements necessary for registration at French universities. 

The Newfoundland and Labrador English School District recognizes the DELF B2 as an acceptable level of language proficiency for teachers of Core French, Intensive Core French and French Immersion programs.


Examination sessions are available to university and high school students, as well as to any member of the general public who is interested in obtaining a certification of their skills in French as a second language.