Physics department rewards student success

Mar 20th, 2014

Physics award winners
Physics department rewards student success

The Department of Physics and Physical Oceanography had the pleasure of recognizing student achievement at a recent awards ceremony.

This year, the department is offering two new awards, one for graduate teaching assistants and a new undergraduate scholarship, the Hugh J. Anderson Scholarship in Physics.

“The department developed the Graduate Teaching Award in recognition of the outstanding contributions of our graduate students to our teaching program,” said Department Head Brad de Young. “This year two students, Kolawole Akintola and Swomitra Pailt, received the award, which includes a book prize and a certificate.”

This year is also a special year for undergraduates in with the creation of the Hugh J. Anderson Senior and Junior Scholarships in Physics.

“These scholarships are the result of a bequest from Dr. Hugh J Anderson, a long-term member of the Chemistry Department who generously endowed this scholarship for students majoring in physics,” said Dr. de Young.

This year the department awarded one $4,000 Senior Award to Michael Grudich and five $2,000 Junior Awards to Riley Brooks, Nathaniel Drover, Anna O’Grady, Mark Holden and Haruki Hirasawa.

Also awarded was the $500 T.C. Noel Scholarship to Cole Walsh, the $1,000 Harry Kiefte scholarship to Colin Knight and the $1,000 S.W. Breckon scholarship to Catherine Woodford.


Faculty of Science

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000