Physics department holds first scholarship awards ceremony

Mar 27th, 2013

Kelly Foss

Dr. Brad de Young and Nathaniel Drover
Physics department holds first scholarship awards ceremony

The Department of Physics and Physical Oceanography held its first ever scholarship awards presentation ceremony recently. Scholarships were given out on March 13 to three students studying physics at Memorial.

“The ceremony was held to honour the recipients and to make other students aware of the scholarships and encourage them in their study of physics,” said Dr. Brad de Young, head of the department. “Each of these students were awarded the scholarship based upon their outstanding academic performance and while they are important to the students, the scholarships are also quite significant for the Department of Physics and Physical Oceanography for they are named after three distinguished and fondly remembered faculty members of the department.”

Catherine Woodward received the Harry Kiefte scholarship, while Nathaniel Drover took home the Corbin Noel Scholarship. Michael Grudich was awarded the S.W. Breckon scholarship. The scholarships are valued at $1,000, $500 and $1,000 respectively.

“Harry Kiefte was head of the department during the late 1990s and an important creative force in shaping the department we are today,” said Dr. de Young. “Corbin Noel was also one of the very early faculty members during the formative period of the department in the 1950s and 1960s and Syd Breckon was the first head of the department in 1954, a position he held for almost three decades. All three contributed many decades to the department and each had a particular interest in the successes of students.”

The Kiefe scholarship was created and supported by faculty and staff of department while the families of the former faculty members started the Breckon and Noel scholarships.


Faculty of Science

230 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1B 3X9

Postal Address: P.O. Box 4200, St. John's, NL, CANADA, A1C 5S7

Tel: (709) 864-8000