Please Enter a Search Term

Faculty

Our Faculty

 Faculty members are full-time members of the department who have considerable research expertise in their subject field. They supervise our graduate students, are members of professional organizations and university committees, participate in public events and are committed to the overall strength of the Department of Religious Studies at Memorial University. 


 

 

 

 

Dr. Michael DeRoche

Associate Professor and Acting Grad Coordinator
M.Th. Laval; M.A., Ph.D. McMaster
Office: 5010 Arts and Administration
Telephone: (709) 864-3539
Email: mderoche@mun.ca

Research Insterests: Biblical studies, narratology, ancient Israelite religion, 2nd temple Judaism, early rabbinic Judaism

Dr. Patricia Dold

Associate Professor and Head of Gender Studies
M.A. Calgary; Ph.D. McMaster
Office: 5012 Arts and Administration
Telephone: (709) 864-4538
Email: pdold@mun.ca

Research Interests: Hindu religious texts, Hindu goddesses, women and religion

Dr. David J. Hawkin

Professor
P.G.C.E. Leeds; M.A., Ph.D. McMaster
Office: 5030 Arts & Administration
Telephone: (709) 864-8173
Email: dhawkin@mun.ca
Webpage: www.ucs.mun.ca/~dhawkin/

Research Interests: New Testament, early Christian literature, politics and religion

Dr. K. I. Parker

Professor and Head
M.A., Ph.D. McMaster
Office: 5005 Arts & Administration
Telephone: (709) 864-8594
Email: kparker@mun.ca
Webpage: www.ucs.mun.ca/~kparker/

Research Interests: Hebrew Bible, critical theory, post-modernism, religion and political theory
 

Dr. Jennifer Porter

Associate Professor
M.A., Ph.D. McMaster
Office: 5009 Arts & Administration
Telephone: (709) 864-2469
Email: jporter@mun.ca
Webpage: www.ucs.mun.ca/~jporter/

Research Interests: Contemporary religions, religion and popular culture, new religious movements, religion and social theory
 

Dr. Lee Rainey

Associate Professor
M.A., Ph.D. Toronto
Office: 5008 Arts & Administration
Telephone: (709) 864-8285
Email: lrainey@mun.ca

Research Interests: Daoism, Confucianism, Chinese philosophy

Dr. Michelle Rebidoux

Visiting Assistant Professor
M.A. UBC, Ph.D. McGill
Office: 5031 Arts & Administration
Telephone: (709) 864-8172
Email: mrebidoux@mun.ca

Research Interests: Philosophy of religion, comparative religion, theories of religion, history of Christianity, religious ethics
 

Dr. Hans Rollmann

Professor
M.A. Vanderbilt, Ph.D. McMaster
Office: 5027 Arts & Administration
Telephone: (709) 864-8171
Email: hrollman@mun.ca
Webpage:                      http://www.ucs.mun.ca/~hrollman/index.html

Research Interests: History of Christian thought, religion in Newfoundland and Labrador

Dr. Jennifer Selby

Associate Professor and Graduate Coordinator (on leave Fall 2014)
M.A. Queen's; Ph.D. McMaster
Office: 5029 Arts and Administration
Telephone: (709) 864-4046
Email: jselby@mun.ca

Research Interests: Islam in the west, gender, method & theory, religion and anthropology
 

Dr. Michael Shute

Professor
M.T.S. Atlantic School of Theology;                 S.T.L., S.T.D. Regis; Th.D. Toronto

Office: 5031 Arts & Administration
Telephone: (709) 864 - 8172
Email: mshute@mun.ca

Research Interests: Social ethics, philosophy of religion, Lonergan, religious aesthetics

Dr. Barry Stephenson

Assistant Professor
M.A. Laurier; Ph.D. Calgary
Office:  5026 Arts & Administration
Telephone:  (709) 864-8113
Email:  bstephenson@mun.ca
Webpage: http://www.barrystephenson.ca

Research Interests:  Christian thought and history, ritual studies, religion and literature
     
     
     

Secretary

   

Colleen Banfield

Administrative Secretary

Telephone: (709) 864-8166
E-mail: colleenb@mun.ca
 

 


 

Retired Faculty 

   
                                       

Dr. David N. Bell

Professor Emeritus and Honorary Research Professor
M.A. Leeds; M. A., D.Phil. Oxford, F.R.S.C.
Office: 5031 Arts & Administration
Telephone: (709) 864-8172
Email: dbell@mun.ca

Research Interests:  Medieval thought, mysticism, monastic institutions, comparative religion, patristic thought
 

Dr. Morley F. Hodder

Professor Emeritus
Dip. in Th. United Theological College; P.G.Dip. in Th. Edinburgh; S.T.M., Th.D. Boston

 
     

 

 

Share