Retired faculty honored at annual conference
Marcia Porter and Alice Gaudine
Prof. Marilyn Beaton (retired), Drs Alice Gaudine, and Sandra Small, and Professors Doreen Dawe and Erin Glynn. Missing from photo is Dr. Lan Gien.


Several faculty members from Memorial’s School of Nursing were in Corner Brook recently for the annual general meeting and conference of the Atlantic Region Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing (ARCASN).

During the AGM Dr. Lan Gien, now professor emeritus with the School of Nursing, and retired faculty member Prof. Marilyn Beaton, received lifetime memberships to the association in recognition of their contribution to nursing education and nursing throughout their careers.

ARCASN holds an annual conference that features a keynote speaker on nursing education, workshops and presentations.  The event gives nursing faculty members an excellent opportunity to share ideas with other nurse educators in Atlantic Canada, and present their research and teaching innovations at a regional conference. 

The association also provides nursing faculty in the Atlantic region a voice at the Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing (CASN) through a report made to CASN at its annual meeting. 

Through yearly membership fees from nursing faculty members ($50 per year for 2013 – 2014), ARCASN awards  two research grants valued at $2,000 each and two education innovation grants valued at $2000 annually to nurse educators.

If you are a nurse educator interested in helping to support ARCASN’s objectives by becoming a member, please contact Dr. Alice Gaudine, MUNSON’s representative to ARCASN, at

Jul 3rd, 2013

Bookmark and Share