Please Enter a Search Term


O'Dea Scholarship

Captain James Cook Memorial Scholarship

A fund was established in 1979 by members of the Department of Geography to honor the memory of Captain James Cook (1728-1779), explorer, navigator and cartographer, whose years of painstaking mapping of the coasts of Newfoundland and Labrador laid the basis for a comprehensive scientific knowledge of the province.

At least one scholarship, valued at not less than $600, is awarded annually on the recommendation of the Department of Geography to a student demonstrating particular merit in geography.
Recipients are selected based on their academic standing: they must have completed 30 credit hours in two semesters of the previous academic year with an overall average of at least 75 per cent.
Recipients of the Captain James Cook Memorial Scholarship
2007-08: Jenna Barney
2006-07: Amanda Douglas and Catherine Strong
2005-06: Suzanne Smith and Andrew Cuff
2004-05: Catherine Poole and Laura Temple
2003-04: Not awarded
2002-03: Laura Temple
2001-02: Shane Greene and Darryl Kennedy
2000-01: Karen Russell and Shane Greene
1999-00: Janesta McCarthy and Shane Greene
1998-99: Janesta McCarthy and Daniel O'Dell
1997-98: Sheila MacKenzie
1996-97: Brad Anthony, Bram Noble and David Barrett
1995-96: Keith Dyke and Kerry Lake
1994-95: Christina Tizzard and Anthony Philpott
1993-94: Heather Spratt
1992-93: Heather Lundrigan
1991-92: Sandy F.H. Drover
1990-91: James Locke and Alfred Rein van Kesteren
1989-90: Daniel Haedrick
1988-89: James Locke, Deborah L. Butler and Travis Gillard
1987-88: Deborah L. Butler, Daniel Haedrick and Brian Quick
1986-87: Perry W. Diamond and David B. Coish
1985-86: Paul Hardy, Donna D. Golberg, Dennis Fox and Derek Peddle
1984-85: Nadine C. Shuurman and Joan E. Moulton
1983-84: Laurence H. Davis, Paul G. Fitzpatrick and John P. Howley
1982-83: Elizabeth Bungay

Honourable Fabian O'Dea QC LLD Scholarship

2007-08: Jamie Ward
2006-07: Kayla Ralph
2005-06: Andrew Cuff and Suzanne Smith

The Nicole Fortier Memorial Scholarship

The family and friends of Nicole Fortier have established this scholarship in her memory to encourage and assist women to develop to their full academic potential.

Valued at $1,000.00, it is open to single mothers who are enrolled in full-time undergraduate studies at Memorial University of Newfoundland.
First preference will be given to single mothers who are doing a major in Geography. In the event of no such eligible candidate, it will be awarded to a single mother doing any undergraduate program.
It will be awarded by the Senate Committee on Undergraduate Scholarship and Financial Aid, taking into account financial need as well as scholarship standing. Applications will be available at the Scholarship and Awards Office, UC4018.