Award and Honour Recipients

President's Award for Outstanding Research

2016 - Dr. Christopher Rowley, Department of Chemistry
2015 - Steve Piercey, Department of Earth Sciences
2010 - Marco Merkli, Department of Mathematics and Statistics


Terra Nova Young Innovator

2016 - Dr. Michael Katz, Department of Chemistry
2015 - Penny Morrill, Department of Earth Sciences
2011 - Chris Kozak, Department of Chemistry


University Research Professor


Fereidoon Shahidi
John (Sean) Brosnan
Sailen Mookerjea


Richard Haedrich
Gordon Bennett


Graham Bodwell
Raymond Poirier
Peter Pickup
Laurence Thompson

Computer Science

Wolfgang Banzhaf

Earth Sciences

Ali Aksu
Jeremy Hall
Michael Rochester
David Strong
Harold Williams

Mathematics and Statistics 

Jie Xiao
Xiaoqiang Zhao
Brajendra Sutradhar
Yuri Bahturin
Danny Summers
Eric Jespers
Hermann Brunner

Ocean Sciences

Paul Snelgrove
Chris Parrish
Richard Rivkin

Physics and Physical Oceanography

Tran Gien
Maynard Clouter
Harry Kiefte


Mary Courage
Carole Peterson
William Montevecchi
Robert Adamec


John Lewis Paton Distinguished University Professorship

John (Sean) Brosnan, Department of Biochemistry


Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada

Carole Peterson, Department of Psychology
Danny Summers, Department of Mathematics and Statistics
John (Sean) Brosnan, Department of Biochemistry
Michael Rochester, Department of Earth Sciences
David Strong, Department of Earth Sciences
Harold Williams, Department of Earth Sciences


Bartlett Professor of Oceanography

Brad de Young, Department of Physics and Physical Oceanography


Faculty of Science

230 Elizabeth Ave

St. John's, NL A1B 3X9 CANADA

Tel: (709) 864-2530

Fax: (709) 864-2552