Please Enter a Search Term

Undergraduate Achievement

NSERC USRA (Summer 2010)

Megan Cody (working with Jacqueline Blundell)

Kathleen House (working with Jamie Drover)

Natasha Kapoor (working with Carolyn Walsh)

Kellie Lynch (working with Aimée Surprenant)

Jonathan Neil (working with Christina Thorpe)

Morag Ryan (working with Anne Storey)

Megan White (working with Darcy Hallet)


NSERC USRA (Summer 2009)

Kathleen House (working with Russ Adams & Mary Courage)

Eugenia Khorochkov (working with Virginia Grant)

Rebecca Lethbridge (working with Carolyn Harley)

Kate Murphy (working with Darlene Skinner)

Allison Pridham (working with Jacqueline Blundell)

Lesley Ann Stapleton (working with Carolyn Walsh)

Convocation Awards (May 2009)

Kathy Keating, the University Medal for Academic Excellence in Psychology

Rebecca L. Lethbridge, the University Medal for Academic Excellence in Behavioural Neuroscience

Peter Smith, the Dr. James L. Walker Convocation Award, given to a psychology Honours student who has demonstrated both academic excellence and leadership within their community

Nova Scotian Institute of Science Award (33rd APICS Undergraduate Psychology Conference, Mount Saint Vincent University, Halifax, Nova Scotia, May 6 - 7, 2009)

Rebecca L. Lethbridge, an honours student with Carolyn Harley and Sue Walling, received a $100 award in recognition of a presentation that best exemplifies excellence in basic research. Her poster was entitled, "Intrahippocampal Infusion of the β–Adrenoreceptor Agonist Isoproterenol Potentiates the Perforant Path-Evoked Population Spike in the Dentate Gyrus of Urethane-Anesthetized Rats".

Third Annual Science Symposium (MUN, August 2009)

Ten psychology honours students participated in this Symposium. Kate Murphy (supervised by Darlene Skinner) was one of the five prize winners; Susan Flynn (supervised by Carole Peterson), Lindsey Boland (supervised by Ken Fowler) and Leslie Ann Stapleton (supervised by Carolyn Walsh) received honourable mentions. Leslie Ann Stapleton was also the WISE Choice.

Faculty of Science Student Awards (October 2009)

Rebecca Lethbridge (Biochemistry/BHNR) and Stephanie Smith (Psychology) received the Lou Visentin Award, which recognizes the outstanding achievement of graduating students who have been named to the Dean's List for four consecutive years. This award is the highest award for undergraduate academic achievement in the Faculty of Science and was awarded to 25 students in the 2008-2009 academic year.

Keelia Farrell (Biology/BHNR) and Kathleen House (Psychology) received the Dean of Science Book Award, which is awarded annually to a student in each department in the Faculty of Science on the recommendation of the Head of the Department. The student must have demonstrated academic excellence in his/her declared major and completed at least six semesters with a minimum of ninety credit hours.

Canadian Federation of University Women (CFUW) (March 2010)

Jillian Bishop was the recipient of a $1000 one-time bursary from CFUW.


Certificate of Academic Excellence: Honours Theses (Canadian Psychological Association, June 2009)

Rebecca Lethbridge

Jennifer Mulle

Jacinta Reddigan