Full-Time Faculty

Dr. Peter Gratton

Peter Gratton

Ph.D (DePaul)
Office: AA3102
Telephone: (709) 864-8335
Email: pgratton@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Contemporary political philosophy
Contemporary European philosophy
Africana philosophy
Philosophies of race and gender
Metaphysics of space and time

Dr. Shannon Hoff

Shannon Hoff

Ph.D (Stony Brook University)
Office: AA3105
Telephone: (709) 864-8341
Email: shoff@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Feminist Philosophy
Hegel
Social and Political Philosophy
19th and 20th Century European Philosophy

Dr. James Scott Johnston

Scott Johnston

Graduate Coordinator
Ph.D (University of Illnois at Urbana-Champaign)
Office: ED5002 & AA3066
Telephone: (709) 864-6924 & (709) 864-3754
Email: sjohnston12@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Philosophy of Education
Ethics and Political Philosophy
American Philosophy
Pragmatism, John Dewey
Continental and Analytic Philosophy in Conversation
Kant

Dr. Joël Madore

Joel Madore

Ph.D Essex
Office: AA3094
Telephone: (709) 864 -8340
Email: joel.madore@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Politcal Philosophy
Kant
Contemporary French Philosophy
Philosophy of Religion

Dr. Sean McGrath

McGrath

Departmental Chair
Ph.D (Toronto)
Office: AA3069
Telephone: (709) 864-2668
Email: sjoseph.mcgrath@gmail.com

Areas of Specialization: Metaphysics
Phenomenology
Psychoanalysis
German Philosophy
Philosophy of Religion

Dr. Seamus O'Neill

Seamus ONeill

Undergraduate Advisor
Ph.D (Dalhousie, Classics)
Office: AA3100
Telephone: (709) 864-8332
Email: sjoneill@mun.ca

Link to website

Areas of Specialization: Ancient Philosophy
Neoplatonism
Medieval Philosophy
Metaphysics
Philosophy of Religion
Demonology

Dr. Sumangali (Suma) Rajiva

Suma Rajiva

Ph.D (Toronto)
Office: AA3107
Telephone: (709) 864-8307
Email: srajiva@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Kant
Early Modern philosophy
Descartes to Hume

Dr. Arthur Sullivan

Arthur Sullivan

Ph.D (Queens)
Office: AA3105
Telephone: (709) 864-8333
Email: arthurs@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Philosophy of Language and Mind
Logic
Epistemology
Metaphysics

Dr. Peter Trnka

Peter Trnka

Coordinator, Diploma in Applied Ethics
Ph.D (Toronto)
Office: AA3067
Telephone: (709) 864-8338
Email: ptrnka@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Epistemology
Ethics and Politics
Philosophy of Science
Spinoza, Hume, Marx, Deleuze, Foucault, and Negri

Cross-Appointed Faculty

Dr. Jennifer Flynn

jennifer flynn

Ph.D (University of Virginia)
Office: HSC2855
Telephone: (709) 777-2043
Email: jflynn@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Health Ethics

Dr. Christopher Kaposy

Chris Kaposy

Program Coordinator, Master of Health Ethics program
Ph.D (SUNY, Stony Brook)
Office: HSC2830
Telephone: (709) 864-3375
Email: christopher.kaposy@med.mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Cognitive Disability and Prenatal Testing
Ethics and Infectious Diseases
Vaccine Ethics
Ethics of Research in Pregnancy
Abortion
Public Health Ethics

Dr. Walter Okshevsky

Ph.D (Toronto, O.I.S.E.)
Office: E-3060
Telephone: (709) 737-7613
Email: wokshevs@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Critical thinking and Rationality
The Nature of Moral and Ethical Argument
Philosophical Aspects of Policy Studies and Schooling
Moral Education
The Theory and Practice of Liberal Education
Hermeneutics and Critical Theory in Education

Dr. Daryl Pullman

Pullman

Ph.D (Waterloo)
Office: HSC2932
Telephone: (709) 777-6220
Email: dpullman@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Research Ethics
Ethics and Aging
Privacy
Issues Related to Genetic Research and Therapy
Human Dignity and Moral Epistemology

 

Adjunct Faculty


Dr. Richard Singleton

Rick Singleton

Director of Student Programs, Queen's College
M.Div. King's, (W.Ont.)
D.Min. (Graduate Theological Foundation, Indiana)
Office: Queen's College
Telephone: (709) 753-0116
Email: queens@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Pastoral Care & Counseling for the Grieving and Bereaved

 

Contractual Instructors

 

Dr. Craig Cramm

Craig Cramm

Ph.D (Dominican University College)
Office: AA3102
Telephone: (709) 864-8336
Email: cgcramm@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization:eEnvironmental Philosophy
French Philosophy

Dr. Raymond Critch

Ray Critch

Ph.D (Edinburgh)
Telephone: (709) 864-8336
Email: raymond.critch@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Ethics (including metaethics)
Political Philosophy
Philosophy of Law

Dr. Jay Foster

Jay Foster

Coordinator, Master of Philosophy in Humanities Program
Ph.D (Toronto)
Office: A3101
Telephone: (709) 864-8336
Email: ajfoster@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Philosophy of Science
Ontology

Dr. Stephen Gardner

Steve Gardner

Ph.D (Ottawa)
Office: Enter Location
Telephone: (709) 864-8336
Email: sgardner@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Logic
Philosophy of Mathematics
The 20th Century Anglo-American tradition
Metaphysics
Philosophy of Biology and Bioethics

Jenina MacGillivray

Office: AA3101
Telephone: (709) 864-8336
Email: jeninam@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Philosophy of Film

Aaron O'Brien

aaron obrein

Office: AA3101
Telephone: (709) 864-8336
Email: mummerine@gmail.com

Areas of Specialization: Existentialism
Environmental Philosophy

Gil Shalev

Gil Shalev

Office: AA3101
Telephone: (709) 864-8336
Email: gshalev@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Early Modern Philosophy

Retired Faculty 

Floy Doull

Floy Doull

M.A. (St. John's U.)
On faculty 1967-2002

Areas of Specialization: History of Modern Philosophy
Descartes
Leibniz
Hegel
Logic (classical and modern)
St. Augustine
Islam

Dr. Peter Harris

S.T.D. (Gregorian University)
Office: AA2062
Telephone: (709) 864-8966
Home Phone: (709) 335-2505
Email: pharris@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Philosophy of Religion
Aesthetics
Literature
Heidegger
Metaphysics

Dr. Francis 'Lin' Jackson

Lin Jackson

Drs. (Utrecht)
On faculty 1965-93; Dept Head 1971-81

Areas of Specialization: German Idealism
Hegel
Nietzsche, Existentialism
North American Philosophy
Contemporary Ethical Issues

Dr. Tyrone Lai

Tyrone Lai

Ph.D (UCSD)
Email: tlai@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Philosophy of Science and Technology
Epistemology
Newton
Bacon

Dr. Vance D. Maxwell

Vance Maxwell

Ph.D (Toronto)
Email: vmaxwell@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization:rEthics
Spinoza

Dr. John A. Scott

John Scott

Honorary Research Professor
Ph.D (Edinburgh)
Office: AA2062
Telephone: (709) 864-8336
Home Phone: (709) 895-3256
Email: jascott@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Ancient Philosophy
Aristotle
Memory

Dr. Evan Simpson

Evan Simpson

Honorary Research Professor
Ph.D (Duke)
Office: AA2062
Telephone: (709) 864-8966
Email: esimpson@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Moral Philosophy
Political and Social Philosophy
Philosophy of Mind including Philosophy of the Emotions

Dr. Antoinette (Toni) Stafford

Toni Stafford

Ph.D (Edinburgh)
Office: AA3103
Telephone: (709) 864-8341
Email: stafford@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Existentialism,
Kierkegaard
Kant/Hegel
19th century German Idealism

Dr. David L. Thompson

DT

Ph.D (Louvain)
Office: AA2062
Telephone: (709) 864-8336
Email: davidt@mun.ca

Areas of Specialization: Philosophy of Mind
Phenomenology
Post-Modernism
Philosophy of Human Sciences
Mass-Media

Departmental Administrative Assistant

Ann Marie Gushue

ann marie gushue

Administrative Assistant

Office: AA 3069
Telephone: (709) 864-8336
Email: agushue@mun.ca

Share